Minnesota Mom

Beware! Nutbar with a camera from the state of Minnesota

Amazima July 6, 2009

Filed under: Around the World,Christianity,Mothering — minnesotamom @ 9:36 pm

You will notice a new “quote of the month” (yeah, it’s been a few months…) and a new banner in my sidebar.  I’m not much of a banner person, so when I put one up, it is usually something very near and dear to my heart.

I spent quite a while tonight reading through the blog of Katie, a young woman who left everything she knew and, in the name of Christ, started a ministry in Uganda called Amazima.

Since 2007, Katie has brought food, teaching and the Gospel to over 300 children, including 13 that she now calls her own.  Did I mention?  Katie is 20 years old.  Praise God for people like her, who live in faith and stir it up in us by how they live.  If you want to read more about the history of her ministry or the ways you can donate (anywhere from a $10 chicken to sponsoring a child for $300/yr), click on the Amazima banner on the right.  You won’t be sorry.

And if her story touches your heart like it did mine, spread the word.  It is, after all, The Word.

 

2 Responses to “Amazima”

  1. Oh I love this stuff. Awesome! I’ll hit the link and check her out.

    (Nice tour of your home, by the way.)

  2. OneThing Says:

    Katie makes me cry EVERY TIME I visit her blog. I just found her in the last couple of months and I praise God for her, too!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers