Ending the Year with Gratitude

2010 has been one of the toughest years on record for me.  Maybe THE toughest.  I say bring on 2011!

That said, I have been keeping a gratitude journal (inspired by this post) since mid-October.  It is sometimes easy and sometimes a true exercise to write out the things for which I am thankful.  Today, it was easy.  And since we should use our words to encourage and uplift, I dub it appropriate for me to write some of my lists here.  Please leave some of your own thoughts in the comments; it would encourage and uplift me!

Today, I am thankful for:

  • steam rising from my mug of green tea, visible by the light of the window
  • rain on the glass–a mild day for late December
  • the piles of beautiful snow we’ve received this season
  • watching my boy “push push push” his way down the hall on his little car, his feet barely able to reach the floor
  • anticipated delight in the ginger cookie that will accompany aforementioned tea
  • silence

Friends, I am also so thankful for this community.  There are lonely days, too-busy days (Who am I kidding?  Too-busy seasons!), and pull-my-hair-out days, but the gentle reminders, the “you’re doing greats,” and just knowing you are struggling and working through these times, too…it blesses my heart.  Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “Ending the Year with Gratitude

  1. I am thankful for two wonderfully compassionate and loving children, their spouses who love and care for them and accept me, and two grandchildren who are such a treasure and blessing to me. I want the best for all of them and pray God blesses them with a wonderful 2011.

  2. I’m thankful for a sister-in-law who is a great cookie-maker, great cook, great mom to my amazing niece & nephew, great photographer, great decorator, well, basically you are great at everything!

Leave a Reply

