Good Reads for Kids – May 2014

Since we’re on a reading kick this month, I thought I might start a monthly feature about what kids’ books we’ve recently enjoyed. My kids are both avid readers and have both loved books from a young age (I sure hope that continues!). As they have gotten older, I’ve gotten more choosy about which books we have in the house. I want them to enjoy reading, but I also want them consuming decent literature.

Over the past couple of months we’ve done quite a few chapter books. Here are the kids’ favorites:

1. The Cricket in Times Square

cricket in times square

2. The Boxcar Children

boxcar children

3. The Mouse and the Motorcycle

mouse and the motorcycle

4. Henry Huggins

henry huggins

5. Ralph S. Mouse

ralphsmouse

6. The Bobbsey Twins of Lakeport (first in a series)

bobbsey twins of lakeport

7. Redwall

redwall

I read all these books as a kid (except Redwall, which Husband introduced to me in college), so it was great fun for me to re-read them with my own children. I was surprised that Markus could keep up with the plots, but even in Redwall he seemed to pay great attention and remember tiny details. If it’s helpful to reference my kids’ ages, they are 4 and 6 1/2. I wouldn’t say any child could handle Redwall, but my son loves battles of any kind, and my husband did a good job of editing anything inappropriate as he read.

What are your favorite chapter books for littles? I’m always on a quest for recommended titles. Some that are on our list for this spring and summer are Martin’s Mice, Betsy-Tacy, and In Grandma’s Attic.

3 thoughts on “Good Reads for Kids – May 2014

  1. We are deep in the heart of reading territory, too. Since January, we’ve read Charlotte’s Web, Alice in Wonderland (perhaps a bit much, but they listened intently), Little House on the Prairie, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and we’re in the middle of The Secret Garden.

    I’m trying to figure out how I’m going to keep up with my avid reader this summer. We’re to the point of weekly trips to the library. She needs longer books, I guess.

    • I love that, Amy! What a great problem to have! Ooh, and I big-time-heart Roald Dahl. His books were among my childhood favorites. Thanks for a few more to add to my list!

  2. Pingback: Good Reads for Kids – June 2014 | Minnesota Mom

Leave a Reply

