Minnesooooo-duh

People have long made fun of my accent. But…I don’t have one.

I worked in Chicago for two summers doing youth ministry, and the congregants constantly made fun of how I say “out” and “about.” Similarly, I recall a work trip to the Los Angeles area in January of 2006. I went with a co-worker who definitely had a Minnesotan accent. People from all over the country were in the class we took, and several of them kindly pointed out to us that we had accents. “However,” they said, pointing at me, “Yours is much thicker.” Nice. Thank you, kind sirs.

Paula’s “Friday Fun” last week inspired me to take a short quiz. Surely this quiz would prove that I don’t have an accent. As you can see from my results below, I’m accent-free:

“North Central” is what professional linguists call the Minnesota accent. If you saw “Fargo” you probably didn’t think the characters sounded very out of the ordinary. Outsiders probably mistake you for a Canadian a lot.

Okay, so I have an accent. Apparently growing up in northern Minnesota makes it hard to escape. But I could still be a newscaster. I’d just have to do it in Fargo (in ND, but almost in MN). Or maybe Bemidji.

Bummer…I’ve tried over and over to get the quiz I took to load properly, but I can’t, so you’ll just have to visit this link and try it for yourself: http://www.gotoquiz.com/what_american_accent_do_you_have

8 thoughts on “Minnesooooo-duh

  1. Crap… apparently I have the accent, too. I’ve noticed that people from Minnesota rarely will admit that they have an accent, and resent being called on it. Is it because we’ve all seen Fargo and think they sound like idiots? I wonder if people from the South, or Boston, or California resent their accents like Minnesotans do?

  2. Yeah, I don’t know why we’re so sensitive about it…did you score the same accent as me? The people on “Fargo” definitely sound like idiots, though.

    I think Boston accents usually make people sounds slightly dumb. But they probably think the same about us!

  3. Hey, I grew up outside of Boston and I don’t sound dumb!! 🙂

    Now I live in Maine and I can’t stand the Maine accent!! (which I don’t have, thank you very much!)

    Hallie

  4. Yeah – I scored North Central. But I don’t know anybody from MN who watched Fargo and DIDN’T think that they sounded like idiots. Granted… I know some people who are almost that bad, but it’s not like EVERYBODY talks like that! Don’cha know.

  5. Yay! A new friend! But one probably doesn’t count those provoked to comment because one offended them as “friends.”

    At any rate, I will tell you the basis for my stigma with Boston accents: Boston Rob (of Survivor and Amazing Race fame). He always called his fiancee/wife “Am-buh.” I thought, I could never marry someone who couldn’t pronounce my name properly (Amber). Maybe not everyone from Boston sounds like him…

    What does a Maine accent sound like? I’m not familiar with that one…

  6. I think regional accents are cool. It’s part of your heritage. I don’t generally have any kind of problem listening to any accent so long as I’ve had time to listen for a while so I can decipher it correctly with my ears. 🙂

  7. I would definitely be North Central. I used to get “are you Canadian?” ALL THE TIME. I once lived in PA, and was shocked that they didn’t know what goulash was. They were shocked that I owned shorts.

Leave a Reply

