Superbowl Chili

In my defense, I tried to post this yesterday, before the Superbowl. Alas, it was not meant to be. So…make it for the day after the Superbowl. Or make it next year. Or if you’re a really-really-last-minute sort of person, you can pick up the ingredients and make it today.

I made this chili for the first Superbowl after Husband and I were married. He LOVED it. He begs for it every year. It’s a bit complex (in flavor), but if you’ve got gourmet tastes (like you aren’t a big fan of Hormel chili out of a can), then I highly recommend it to you. It also got 2nd place in a chili competition at work. I KNOW. The big time.

So here it is.

Notes from my experimentation:

  • We use a double bock for the beer, but I’m sure most dark beers would work fine.
  • I’ve substituted ground beef for the sirloin once, and it was fine (not quite as gourmet, but fine).
  • I always substitute chili powder for the chili sauce. Maybe it’s better the other way; I wouldn’t know.
  • I have never included all 4 chili peppers–that would be 5 alarm chili for us. I think I’ve done two, max, and it was still what I would call “medium-hot” if you’re comparing it to a jar of salsa.

Enjoy, my friends!

4 thoughts on “Superbowl Chili

  1. Hello!
    I have a question about your Chili receipe. Being that I have not been down the “chili” isle lately, what is the chili sauce? Does this come in a jar? Brand? I typically make my sauce from tomatoes and go from there… adding the powder.
    I may sound silly but I have no idea nor have I seen chili sauce.
    Thank you for the clarification.

  2. I have to say that this sounds a bit hot for me. But, then again, as a native Minnesotan, ketchup is about as hot as I get! We also don’t drink coffee or beer, so that would make it challenging, too!
    I will, however, pass the recipe on to my mom, who lives to cook and will get a kick out of the interesting ingredients.

  3. Another MN Mom,

    Not a silly question at all! I myself have never used the “chili sauce” (as mentioned in my recipe comments above). Homemade recipes of chili sauce are usually a combination of tomatoes, onions, peppers and a bunch of spices. I’m guessing store-bought chili sauce is similar, just with preservatives added. I say go ahead and experiment. Make it your own!

    TinaY,
    We didn’t drink coffee or beer at the time, either, but I bought some Folgers crystals to make a cup of instant and purchased one bottle of double bock at a liquor store. Husband tried the beer, and that is what got him liking beer at all. I still can’t stand it, myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

