7 Things

Approximately 7 topics were whirling around in my head today, attempting to become worthwhile blog posts.  None of them made it, so here’s the mish-mash I’ve got:

1. I was talking with my chiropractor today about a message he’d heard at his church last weekend.  Wish I’d been there.  The speaker did a one-man presentation on the great judgment of God’s people (at the end of time).  The gist of it seemed to be: When everyone is bowing before the Lord, casting their crowns at His feet, will I have anything to cast?  In other words, how am I spending the time He gives me on earth?  Am I doing things that are of eternal worth, or slogging about in the mundane and meaningless?

2. My blog has its name for a reason, and I think I’ve gotten much sidetracked in purpose.  I am from Minnesota, and I like my state.  I’m a mom.  I rarely post about either of those things.  I don’t intend to never, ever stray from those topics, but I would like to have at least a weekly post about mothering and a weekly post about something cool (or uncool, if I can find something) about Minnesota, such as a restaurant, a neat park, or the fantastic weather.

3. I am quickly approaching my 100th post, and want to do that bloggy tradition “100 things.”  I only have 48.  For any of you who have done it, please let me know what kind of stuff to include!

4. My husband sent me this great quote today:

If we run into such debts as that we must be taxed in our meat and in our drink, in our necessaries and our comforts, in our labors and our amusements, for our callings and our creeds, as the people of England are, our people, like them, must come to labor sixteen hours in the twenty-four, and give the earnings of fifteen of these to the government for their debts and daily expenses; And the sixteenth being insufficient to afford us bread, we must live, as they do now, on oatmeal and potatoes, have no time to think, no means of calling the mismanagers to account; but be glad to obtain subsistence by hiring ourselves to rivet their chains around the necks of our fellow sufferers; And this is the tendency of all human governments. A departure from principle in one instance becomes a precedent for a second, that second for a third, and so on ’til the bulk of the society is reduced to be mere automatons of misery, to have no sensibilities left but for sinning and suffering … And the forehorse of this frightful team is public debt. Taxation follows that, and in its train wretchedness and oppression.          – Thomas Jefferson

5. I am sad that the government is going to phase out incandescent lighting.  I despise fluorescent lights, and they give my husband migraines.  And they’re dangerous in other ways

6. I hope Ron Paul still runs on as a Libertarian.  I will vote for him.  McCain is a bit of a rhino.

7. I have been spending a lot of time taking photos and neglecting my blog.  I’m sorry.  I’ll try to do better.  But I still want your feedback on my daily photos, friends!

7 thoughts on “7 Things

  1. You have been neglecting YOUR blog? Um, queen of defiance is right here. Yep me!

    BTW, I can think of one great MN thing to talk about.

    ready???

    ME! hehehehehehe

    Just Kidding!!! I had to do it before Charlie did! 🙂

  2. Don’t beat yourself up. The blog is yours to neglect if you want to… we are just nosy people reading about it.

    One thing that impressed me about Minnesota was the parks. You just don’t see that kind of money poured into parks here in Texas.

    The other thing? Y’all don’t have people to bag your groceries when you check out at the grocery store – except at Target and Byerly’s. That was a real eye opener! Forget having them bring them out to the car, as they do here in Texas.

  3. I’ve had the same thought regarding your #2 about my blog and so have been thinking and praying about it. Sounds weird I know to pray about my blog, but that’s me.

  4. Ugh, I’m so pissed off at the flourescent lights. We replaced all our incandescents with them, and at least 25% of them (the flourescents) BURNT OUT within the next two months. WTH? I will be stockpiling incandescents now…

    That quote is awesome. And McCain as a rhino is a perfect description!

  5. Yeah, interesting quote. Also one of the longest sentences I’ve ever read!
    And I bet when he wrote that, his government wasn’t in debt $9.3 trillion dollars!
    Fiscal responsibility be damned, I say! $406 billion dollars per year in interest payments for 2006? Great! It’s just fake money anyhow, right?

  6. They still bag the groceries some places…but you’re right. Not most. I’ll do it myself if it means cheaper food, though!

    I love our parks. Oh, how I love them. Be assured there will be some MN parks posts this summer!

    Husband says he will stockpile incandescents, too, and put them on the “black market” when stores don’t have them anymore. $150/bulb, baby! We’ll be thousandaires!

    Charlie, watch your bleepin’ language. This is a family show…er…blog. But true. Fake money. True.

Leave a Reply

