It Eludes

Why is it that when you REALLY need sleep, you can’t?  For me, I guess it’s that I get stressed out, but still.  I can lie there praying for an hour or two, “Lord, please help me sleep…” and….nothing.  It usually happens on the nights when I work the next day, which means I have to get up at 4:30.  It’s not because I’m stressed about going—I like my job.  But even if I’m in bed by 9, my body will rarely let me sleep before 11.  I’ve been awake since 3 a.m., so I finally got out of bed to do something productive.

I do not function well with less than 7 hours of sleep.  Twice a week, I get about 4 to 5.  And it’s aging me.  Okay, that’s the end of my complaining for the day.

9 thoughts on “It Eludes

  1. I’m sorry you are having trouble sleeping. That stinks!

    I am not a medicine person. I will take an occasional ibuprofen for a backache (or the rare migraine). But, when it comes to sleep… and I’m not getting any? Or, I’m too wound up to fall asleep? It is Benadryl to the rescue. Just one does the trick for me.

    Benadryl (Diphenhydramine hydrochloride) is the “sleep aid” ingredient in medicines labeled “P.M.” It is also safe to take while nursing.

    But, do your own research on it.

  2. Oh, that sucks. I hate sleepless nights. I hope your day improves significantly and that you sleep well tonight!

  3. Benadryl works for me, too. Or a swing of NyQuil or something like that. But regardless… it seems that the harder you try to fall asleep, the longer it takes you. Especially if you’re THINKING about the fact that you can’t sleep.
    If I think about more than one thing for long (especially if one is work) – then I can’t sleep. Sometimes I imagine myself in some weird, random scenario and just play it out in my head until I’m sleeping.

  4. I don’t know how you function! 4 hours of sleep is definitely NOT enough! My husband always plays video games before bed to relax him. Who knows, maybe it’ll work for you. 😉

  5. Not sure if it was reading your post or the 5pm latte from Starbucks 😉 but sleep was elusive for me last night, too! An extra long prayer session usually does the trick for me, though.

    This is my first post, but I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks and must say it’s uncanny how similar we are in such quirky ways! Hope you have a great day!

  6. Thanks for all the helpful tips, friends!

    Lulu–nice to “meet” ya! Thanks for coming out of the shadows. Mom used to tell me to pray myself to sleep (is that sacrilege?) when I was younger, and it usually worked. Unfortunately, these days, it just gets my brain going on different topics and makes it worse! But maybe if I can just focus…

    Anyway, I slept better last night, so thank y’all who prayed for that!

Leave a Reply

