The Barf of Love

I was just burping Anja after a feeding.  This is, oddly, one of our favorite bonding times during the day.  I will make various noises, sing songs, repeat her noises back to her, nuzzle her neck, blow on her hair.  After a happy feeding, it all makes her giggle.  One of her favorite responses to this is to fling herself upon my neck and squeal.

So today my little game was 5 quick pats on her back and a kiss on her cheek.  After several rounds of this, she flung herself forward and made a small noise rather than her usual squeal.

“Anja, did you seriously just lean forward and barf all over me?” I asked.  Looking down, I saw that it was more than just a little spot.  She had thrown up around my clavicle and it had dribbled down into my shirt and bra.  Yay.  I followed with, “I love you.”

Not too many people could barf on me and get that as a response.

7 thoughts on “The Barf of Love

  1. Oh but when it’s your sweet baby its all ok. At least it’s not formula puke, I have friends who bottle feed and it stinks and stains.
    I breast feed all three of mine and have been puked on to many times to count. But it was my favorite time of day too, the feeding and rocking and talking just the two of us.
    I can’t wait to have more babies!!!!
    Never thought a barf story would bring that out!

  2. Ha ha! (I’m laughing with you, not at you.)

    Motherhood certainly gets you over direct contact with a vast array bodily fluids in a hurry. 🙂

  3. HA!! (I’m laughing with you and at you!) It’s amazing the things that happen after you become a parent which, if they had happened to you when you were still single, would have made you freak out. Then you have kids. So now when your child throws up on you, you think, ‘Eh. Hope I’ve got another clean shirt,’ and you go about your day. 🙂

    ~Brea

  4. I’m not the only barf-lover, I see. 🙂

    Welcome, texasknights. Glad to have you! Lurk away (although I think that since you commented you’re officially “de-lurkified”).

Leave a Reply

