Bad Poetry Monday – 13

You could pick almost any oldies song and find that the lyrics are even cornier when not set to catchy doo-wop music, but those with more dooby doos than real words fall into the “especially bad” category. I have no problem with the name Denise. In fact, it’s one of the names I would have chosen for myself as a child. But this song? Doesn’t do it justice.  Denise by Randy & The Rainbows (I could also poke fun at that…but I won’t):

Oh, Denise, dooby doo
I’m in love with you
Denise, dooby doo
I’m in love with you
Denise, dooby doo
I’m in love with you

Denise, Denise
Oh, with your eyes so blue
Denise, Denise
I’ve got a crush on you
Denise, Denise
I’m so in love with you

Oh, when we walk
It seems like paradise
And when we talk
It always feels so nice
Denise, Denise
I’m so in love with you

Your my dream and I’m in heaven
Every time I look at you
When you smile it’s like a dream
And I’m so lucky
‘Cause I found a girl like you

Oh, Denise, dooby doo
I’m in love with you
Denise, dooby doo
I’m in love with you
Denise, dooby doo
I’m in love with you

Denise, Denise
Oh, won’t you hold me tight
Denise, Denise
Oh, can we kiss goodnight
Denise, Denise
I’m so in love with you

Oh, Denise, dooby doo
I’m in love with you
Denise, dooby doo
I’m in love with you
Denise, dooby doo
I’m in love with you
Denise, dooby doo

3 thoughts on “Bad Poetry Monday – 13

  1. I don tknow this song, but as I am reading the lyrics, I am hearing “scooby dooby doo, where are you” in my head!

    only its, “Denise dooby doo, where are you?!” haha!

  2. Absolutely one of the three best songs ever recorded. If you listen to the music, it changes movements with the smoothness of classical music, yet it is early 60’s rock. It ranks with Mack the Knife and Beyond the Sea.

Leave a Reply

