Sometimes You Wanna Go…

You, my favorite internet peeps, may have noticed that Bad Poetry Mondays have disappeared.  And FS Fridays.  As much as I loved them, I think I am taking a different direction over the summer.  The excuses reasons?  I work Mondays, we travel a lot on Fridays during the summer, and as the weather has warmed (to an oh so beautiful 55 in Minnesota) I’ve found it harder to post as often as I used to.

In other random news, I was working out a bit later than usual tonight and caught a bit of the putrid filth that is The Bachelor.  I have never watched that show but have seen snippets here or there while at the gym.  Tonight happened to be the finale and the first part I’ve seen of this season.  Does anyone else find it repulsive to see a guy fawn over multiple women (and by fawn over I mean “make out passionately with”) up to the day before declaring his undying love for one of them?  ICK ICK ICK.  At any rate, of the two women I saw tonight, I thought he made the clearly better choice.  For what it’s worth, which is little.

The real point of this post is this.  I never watched the show “Cheers.”  I know some of the people who starred on it–Danny DeVito, Rhea Perlman, Ted Danson, Kirstie Alley, etc.  But I know the chorus of the theme song, and it rings very true in my heart.  “Sometimes you wanna go where everybody knows your name…and they’re always glad you came.”  That place isn’t a bar for me.  It’s the gym.  And not everyone knows my name, but most of the staff do.  And the other patrons know my face.  You know how when you’ve seen someone’s face a bunch of times, even if you’ve never spoken to each other, you feel like you would help each other out?  Maybe I’m alone in this, but I feel that way.

7 thoughts on “Sometimes You Wanna Go…

  1. Yes… I love my gym and although I don’t chat it up with the people there, I recognize them and notice when someone is new. However, I have noticed, that if I go to the gym at 10 a.m., rather than 8 a.m., there is a whole new crew of people that I don’t recognize! 🙂

    I would definitely help them out, if necessary. I would never offer unsolicited machine/weight/form advice though. Those people drive me nutz!

  2. Hi! i found you through a comment you left on One Thing. i’m 20’s MN mom, too, in Shakopee. Your daughter is adorable! Anyway, i really like your blog, and look forward to seeing what else you’ll write about!

  3. So you’re saying the season has ended for Flat Stanley and Bad Poetry Mondays. Will they be coming back this fall?

    Will you consider adding Fargo Fridays back to the line-up this fall?

    (Just trying to keep the television inspired posting language going here!) 🙂

    Paula

  4. Jessica–welcome!

    I don’t know yet about this fall, Paula. Perhaps oui, perhaps non?

    Fargo Fridays…we’ll see. Maybe if I get enough people just BEGGING for them. Ha!

  5. I’ve never seen Cheers either. Don’t think I could have stomached it for a lot of reasons, but especially this one: Ted Danson.

    I did watch part of one season of the Bachelor when my daughter was a wee thing and I was spending a lot of time on the living room floor trying to keep her happy or get her to sleep. Figured I’d see what the show was like — I throw up a little just thinking about it. I mean, if the Bachelor and his girl of choice get married, what do they tell their kids one day? “Daddy started out with an entire harem of available women, tried them all, but narrowed it down to me!” Um… yay?

  6. You people who have never seen Cheers are such pups.

    My family watched it every Thursday night. I liked the early years when Coach and Diane were characters. After Woody and Rebecca came along, I lost interest.

    Of course, these names mean nothing to you! 😀

Leave a Reply

