Free the hot dogs!

What a fabulous Friday. Aside from the fact that my baby and I are getting over a mild case of the respiratory flu (Lord, can the fussing stop? Her, not me. :)), I have much for which to be thankful.

I have front and back windows open and a cool spring breeze is giving me free (and much better smelling) a/c. As a result, I can hear my neighbor’s wind chime and imagine myself on the dock at a lakeside cottage, waves lapping at the shore.

I just saved $46 at the grocery store in coupons and discounts.

I got me a little sprig of lilac from a park last night. Life is sweet. Except for that crying baby…excuse me…

————

Carrie, who will graduate nursing school this weekend (yay! Pop over and congratulate her!), tagged me for a meme yesterday. So here it is:

The Rules:

1. The rules of the game get posted at the beginning.

2. Each player answers the questions about themselves.

3. At the end of the post, the player then tags five people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read the player’s blog.

4. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.

What were you doing 5 years ago?

– I was at home preparing for my wedding. Last-minute things, like printing programs (should that be last-minute? Probably not.), coming up with favors, picking out centerpieces from the huge conglomeration of antiques my grandmother let me borrow…and I was enjoying my last few days with my maiden name. 🙂

What are five things to do on your to do list for the day?

– Get groceries (done)

– Make supper

– Go for a walk with Anja

– Plan locations the hubby and I will visit the rest of this weekend (we’re celebrating our 5th anniversary a week early since we’ll be up north with family next weekend)

– Spend time with God

What are five snacks you enjoy?

– Cookies (duh)

– Chips (I never used to like them until I hit “puberty” at age 21. That’s when I first started getting zits and craving salty things.)

– Ice cream

– In season fruit (right now pineapple is ending its peak and stone fruits are on their way, people!)

– Cereal (especially Quaker Oatmeal Squares)

What five things would you do if you were a billionaire?

– Stay home with Anja

– Buy a house instead of a townhome (though I really am thankful for our nice home)

– Invest in some charitable gift annuities and live off the interest while helping those ministries out

– Support other ministries in new and astounding ways (currently on support list: Wycliffe, Compassion International and our church/Desiring God)

– I don’t know. Maybe travel?

What are five of your bad habits?

– Biting torn nails when I don’t have a file handy

– Doing one of them right now (Internet)

– Overplanning

– Impulse buying

– Complaining

What are five jobs you have had?

– Maintenance/Landscaping at the D.O.T.

– In-home elderly care

– Camp counselor

– Executive assistant at a private school

– Youth minister

What five people do you want to tag?

– my good friend Jennifer

– my other good friend Jennifer who needs to get a new blog so I can link to her when she does a guest post

– bloggy friend Sharkey

– bloggy friend Jamie at her new home on the net

– bloggy friend mck Mama

8 thoughts on “Free the hot dogs!

  1. I did it! I posted! And I participated in your meme.

    It’s funny that you like Oatmeal Squares too. I was just talking to my mom about them today!

    Enjoy your long weekend, and happy early anniversary!

  2. Sharkey! I’m so proud…

    Thanks for the well wishes, too.

    I had to post this stinker 3 times before it “took,” and it never saved my bad habits appropriately. One that made the first draft but got left off is starting things and not finishing them. I am forever coming up with grandiose plans/ideas and not having the gusto to follow through.

  3. I love reading other people’s memes! Tres interesting. I can’t say that I will get around to doing on my blog, but please know that I LOVED getting tagged by YOU! Thanks:)

  4. Ooooh, Lilac! Yum! That is the best smell in the world — next to my Grandma’s homemade fudge cooking on the stove. 🙂

  5. We’ve been sick, too. Our family believes in sharing everything, including cold viruses. Sweet, isn’t it?

    Happy Upcoming Anniversary. Are you guys doing anything special?

    By the way, my meme is up. Thanks for tagging me. 🙂

  6. At least you HAD wedding programs! I think we left it so long that we decided to say we didn’t want them even though I think we probably just forgot. All I know is, it’s a good thing we had so many friends around the day before the wedding.

    Happy anniversary! (early)

  7. I liked your meme entry! I’ve been tagged multiple times and try to type up my answers but get bored with my own “interesting” factoids. What’s that a sign of, I wonder?

    Anyway, I like yours. I particularly like that you were madly printing programs for your wedding. LOL!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

  8. Oh Huey! I did it. Terribly frightening thing to do: get back into blogging. It’s been so long. Will I remember how? Do I even have anything to write about? Ever?

    Well, we shall see. But hopefully your tactic of tagging me will “stick” and I shall once again be a regular in the blogosphere. 🙂

    Love you friend.

Leave a Reply

