A Day of Vaca

Two weekends ago I got a break. An overnight break, to be exact. It couldn’t have come at a better time.

Anja had spent the better part of two days besting me in an eating/spitting match. Her feeding times were literally taking upwards of an hour each sitting. And Mom was left frustrated and defeated.

My lovely small group friends and I headed downtown to The Westin (oh. my. The Fabulousness!!), which is built in the historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building. Who knew a bank could turn into such a beautiful hotel? Plus the price was quite reasonable, and we got to feel fancy all evening.

We checked in and got dressed for dinner. And we looked like idiots, because we had all packed the exact same thing to wear. All had black tops, and two of us had gray, just-below-the-knee bottoms and two had knee-length black and white flowered skirts. But we didn’t care. We stopped at the 112 Eatery, where we could hardly understand the menu. “What’s foie gras?” Carrie would whisper in my ear. “I don’t know,” I would reply. Liz ordered tongue. Even though we didn’t voice it out loud, I’m pretty sure the other two were probably thinking what I was thinking. Gross. And I’m an adventurous eater! But we love you Liz, and we love that you love tongue. J

It stormed while we were eating and we walked out to 15 degrees cooler air and scary hooligans on Hennepin Avenue. Back at the hotel, we went for a swim in the stainless steel-lined pool. Can I just tell you that if I ever build a pool it will be done in the same material? Slimy tile and gritty concrete BE GONE! You have been replace by something much cleaner and more sophisticated. I felt like I was in a giant sink. We had swimming races. Apparently I was made to swim on my back, but I lost sorely in side-stroke and crawl competitions.

The next morning I had to get ready for this photo shoot (see my other site for more photos), so I didn’t get to stay long, but it was a great refreshing time away with my sisters in Christ.

12

8 thoughts on “A Day of Vaca

  1. Ahh, so, am I correct to assume that this wedding photo is your favorite? So stinking crisp and fresh and gorgeous!!

    Nice to read about your lovely, much-needed time away.

  2. Woohoo for a mini-cation with friends! 🙂 Excellent way to rest and refresh so that you could come back ready to take on your eater/spitter.

  3. I laughed so hard about the tongue and swimming in the giant sink. AWESOME. I need a break, too – take me as your assistant next time! I’m helpful!

  4. I was going to come back and tell you how beautiful this photo was last week, but got lost in yours and your shooting partners photo blogs that I forgot!

    You are doing a.m.a.z.i.n.g work and plan on calling you the next time we have a planned trip (more than a day in advance) to the city so you can do my fam!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

