All Washed Up

I’ve reached the dregs of yet another bottle of detergent, and the question comes up again…

To make my own detergent or to NOT make my own detergent?

So I bring this question before you readers.  Have any of you ever made your own?  If so, please list pros and cons?  I’ve read other bloggers accounts and they swear by it, but I don’t know that it’s yet worth it to me.  My calculated savings would be about $90 a year, and is it worth that to go to all the work of making it and have fading, stains that won’t come out, etc.

Help me decide, my friends!  Why do you love store-bought detergent?  Or why do you love your homemade stuff?

14 thoughts on “All Washed Up

  1. I must not be very earth conscious b/c I’ve never even considered (or better yet… heard of anyone) making their own laundry detergent. Household cleaners… yes. Laundry detergent no.

    Now, that I’ve admitted that… I buy my detergent(s). All of them. All the time. I love the ease, the smell, the cleaning power… everything.

    I know, I just lost my “GO GREEN” button.

  2. I make my own, and I haven’t had any instances of fading colors with my clothes. As for stains, once in a while I will have something that I have to wash twice, but that happened to me when I used to use ALL. I personally don’t think that it is that time consuming to make a batch (I make the powdered kind). Each batch makes 2 cups of powdered detergent, and I only use 1 TBS per load of laundry. I got my detergent recipe from Frugal Upstate – at first, I had trouble finding washing soda and Fels Naptha, but low and behold, Kroger has both items. I use a grater on my bar of soap, which eliminates having to dry out the soap flakes and run the flakes through the food processor.

  3. I love the homemade laundry soap because it’s inexpensive, easy to make, and it works great, even in my fancy front loader. I use a pretreatment on my husband’s work shirts, but I had to do that with store bought detergent, too.

  4. Homemade laundry soap–no, haven’t tried that. I buy the cheapest stuff at Wal-Mart and it works fine for me. My go-to stain remover is Clorox 2–it works on everything!
    I have made homemade baby wipes–I have a big rubbermaid container that I put 2 parts baby wash and 1 part baby oil in, add water, and add a pile of baby wash cloths. Ta-da! Baby wipes, for a fraction of the regular store bought ones!

  5. Hi! I am switching to Seventh Gen’s laundry detergent. I feel better about using it, because it isn’t petroleum based & it still gets my laundry wonderfully clean. They have a Free & Clear that is ALSO HE, and they are the only brand besides All & Tide (which I am allergic to both) that has one! So far, (just the towels) it has been great! I figured it out & in my HE machine, I’ll pay about $0.09 a load for it! (It’s $8 a bottle.) I also use Clorox Bleach 2 for HE machines & a F& C Color Bleach that I forget if it is Purex or Clorox, but it is HE too! I also use Oxy Clean when I am worried about bad stains (like family cloth or mama cloth).
    I have heard wonderful things about soap nuts & I will try the sample pack my friend gave me, but they aren’t as cheap as Seventh Gen, & I don’t have to mail order 7th Gen, so I will probably stick with that!

  6. I’ve never considered making my own laundry detergent. Having 5 kids, laundry in and of itself has been a big enough chore. Why add to it???? I love the fresh scent of Gain detergent and wouldn’t have it any other way.

  7. I know a lot of people who DO make it, and they say
    a) that it saves them TONS of money (we’re spending $10 a week right now)
    b) it cleans really well
    and
    c) it’s easy.
    I haven’t done it yet, but I’m planning to.

  8. Hmmm.

    The thing that holds me back from making my own shampoos and detergents is the lack of scent. I’m all-about yummy scents on my clothes and hair.

    Saving money is intriguing. We just switched to line drying, so that’s enough revolution in the laundry room for me at this time.

  9. I so want to try making our own detergent! I’ve found a few places on Etsy where you can buy the homemade stuff and we’re thinking about just buying some to try it out before we go hardcore and start making our own. Looking forward to hearing if you give it a shot and how you like it.

  10. I have a recipe on my site and have been making my own laundry soap for a VERY long time. I love it! It costs me next-to-nothing to make 3 gallons of detergent (about $1, actually), the cleaning power is to my satisfaction, and it is SO easy to make. Why buy when making your own is so inexpensive and simple??

    Blessings!
    Lacy

Leave a Reply

