Toasted Marshmallow

That was what I always said I would name my band (if I ever had one) when I was in high school.

Today I’m going to share something silly but maybe fun/helpful.  We toast our marshmallows on our flat-top stove.  See, in the summer, I like to have S’mores.  On a regular basis.  Like at least once a week.  But…we don’t have a fireplace or a fire pit or even a gas burner.  So…rather than microwaving the marshmallows, which just turns them into a big pile of other-worldly goo, we started toasting them over the stove on a knife or a bamboo skewer.  And you know what?  They’re pretty good!

Instructions:

1. Put marshmallow on a knife or a skewer or even one of those camping sticks if you’re going all out.

2. Turn your burner on high.

3. Rotate the marshmallow above the heat until it gets golden brown.

4. Put it on your prepared graham and chocolate and STUFF (Do I love The Sandlot or what?).

Here’s photographic proof that it works:

Toasted Marshmallow

Toasted Marshmallow

5 thoughts on “Toasted Marshmallow

  1. When I was in college, my roommates and I were “grazing” at Hornbacher’s (means qualiteeeee . . . and savings . . . 24 hours a daaaaayy) on a weekend, and we ended up going home with marshmallow cream, chocolate chips, and graham crackers. Not half bad when you’re living in the dorm!

    Your marshmallow looks yummy–they’re even good without the chocolate and grahams.

  2. Yum! Looks good. When I have a craving, I’ll give it a try–I’ve got a flat top for the first time, thanks.
    BTW, we just got a really affordable fire pit from LTD commodities–http://www.ltdcommodities.com/home/catalog/cat_item_pg.asp?G=594&P=229&Rec=3&Ntt=fire+pit&N=37&Nao=0&R=441310-0CFS—1
    Not big, but makes enough of a fire to make s’mores!

  3. Why that is most helpful information . I am, however, afraid to show the kiddos that trick. It might turn into a diaster when I am not looking !~ 🙂

  4. 1. The Sandlot is one of my favorite. movies. of. all. time!!! My little brother and I used to watch it like 3 times a week when we were growing up, and whenever we’re together and see someone with a big dog, we still say’ THE BEAST’ and ‘for-evvv-er.’ Good times. And I’m a huge baseball fan, too, so it still holds a wonderfully dear place in my heart. 🙂

    2. S’mores RULE!! We used to make them all the time in our fire pit or the fire bowl, but since we went under the burn ban (like 4 months ago!) we haven’t been able to have any fires. The kids have been heartbroken, because they love s’mores. I personally adore them with some peanut butter, and my husband thinks I’m crazy for it, but if loving peanut butter s’mores is wrong, I don’t want to be right!!!

    ~Brea

  5. We do the same thing to make s’mores at home. I just learned the trick a few years ago. It’s a good one! But when the ingredients are around, they’re too good to pass up. I end up eating them every night, rather than every week.

Leave a Reply

