10-Year Reunion

I think I said I would post some stuff from my 10-year reunion and then promptly forgot about that promise. You see, I’m getting old…

Anyway, here’s what happened. I went to a bonfire at a classmate’s parents’ home that was dubbed “family friendly” (we later decided that people without kids might have felt left out), but it was basically a nicer way of saying “minimal alcohol,” for which I was thankful. Anja played with some babies of my classmates, while Husband sat in a chair and tried not to act awkward (Because seriously, how awkward is it for spouses? Very.). I visited with people who looked like older versions of my classmates about their TODAY lives. It was weird. The whole weekend felt like a time warp, I kept saying. Here’s some babies:

After that we all dropped off our babies and went to a bar, where about 4 times the amount of classmates showed up. I sat by the door, talked with a couple friends, drank a water (they didn’t make mojitos, pretty much the only alcoholic drink I like), and left before 11:00 to go watch the Olympics. 🙂

The next evening was a class photograph at our high school, dinner, a parade and a dance (at which very few people actually danced. It was like 8th grade all over again.). Here’s my class (well, about 1/4 of us) at the Eagle’s, a very classy place. As you can see in the second photo, they have Christmas lights up YEAR ROUND! And despite having lived in said town for 18 years of my life, I had to ask my mom for directions to the Eagle’s.

These are some of my closer friends from HS. I just noted now that we all have blue eyes. Lotta Swedes and Norwegians up der in nordern Minnesoda.

Sunday my guy friends took me golfing with them, which was very nice. Even though there was a softball game and picnic scheduled, I happily accepted their invitation. I didn’t know how much more mingling I could handle. See, I’ve changed since high school. I’m not the confident, outgoing person I once was. Sometimes that makes me sad.

6 thoughts on “10-Year Reunion

  1. Reunions are surreal, I think. It’s weird to see all these people you were kids with, and now they have grown-up jobs and kids and everything. I still have mixed feelings about my 10 year, not sure if I’ll go to the next. Glad you had a good time, though,thanks for the pics!

  2. I was one of the organizers of our 10-year reunion, and we had a DJ too (at the American Legion!). Which totally doesn’t make sense because when you get together with people you haven’t seen in a long time, what do you want to do? Talk! And that’s really hard when the music’s blasting.

    If anyone should be confident and outgoing, it’s you. This is totally going to come out sounding weird and stalkerish, but I don’t mean it that way. I think you’re pretty darn amazing–a smart, interesting woman who’s a great mom and is good at everything (from making soap to playing the flute to taking photographs to writing) she does. I’m 11 years older than you, but I seriously do want to be like you when I grow up.

  3. My 10-year is coming up next year. I’m still on the fence on whether I’m going to go or not. I’m just not sure what I would have to say to about all but 10 of the people. But there are a couple good friends that I’d like to visit with, and a reunion might be just the excuse we need to get together.

  4. I feel, like, totally old here. I graduated in 1989.

    I skipped my 10-year reunion. I plan to go to my 20th, which is NEXT SUMMER! GAH!

    When we were in my hometown a couple of months ago, I ran in to several people I graduated with. Everyone was heavier, grayer, had obviously aged, but nicer…these were people I never really talked to in HS, but we talked like old friends.

    I’ve heard you still carry a lot of the emotional baggage from high school at 10 years. But by 20 years, it’s pretty much gone. It’s true for me.

  5. Girl you are NOT old!! I’m having my 20th next summer. Yikes!

    The class before mine just had their 20th reunion and I saw photos. It was scary! Everyone looked so old. Then the scrawny, skinny guys were big, buff and good looking. It was a riot.

    Happy birthday to your little one year old!! She is so sweet. At least at your 20th you won’t have the youngest kid like me. You’ll have an 11 year old. WOW! I wish I had my kids younger… maybe I wouldn’t be so worn out. ha.

    -Amy From Texas

  6. Hey, at least you went to your reunion and hey, at least you HAD a 10-year reunion. Nobody in my class gave a rat’s behind. A few of the TEACHERS tried to plan something but it never got off the ground. Now a few old classmates are trying to plan a weekend thing next summer and planning to come from overseas to attend! We…..won’t be going. *shudder*

Leave a Reply

