To my darling daughter, who just turned one

My sweet little peanut,

You came into our lives after 9 months of not so much fun.  I was worried through the last several months of pregnancy whether I would love you or not (silly, right?).  Little did I know that God gives immeasurable love to mothers for their babies: His love.  I have never felt so protective, never knew I could have anxiety about such minute things, and never realized that my heart had the capacity it does.

You bring joy beyond imagination—I savor every smile, linger over every cuddle (those are few unless I have a book in hand—you’re not much of a cuddler), and take pride in each small huge accomplishment (SMILING!  SITTING!  WAVING!  TALKING!  CRUISING!  WALKING!).

May we be blessed with many more years during which to watch you grow and learn.  And we pray that you will come to know Jesus as your Savior and to strive to please Him in all you do.  He formed you and knit you together in my womb, and I can’t imagine a better first baby He could have given us.

I love you, sweetheart.  More than you know.

~Mommy

6 thoughts on “To my darling daughter, who just turned one

  1. So nice to “meet” another Minnesota Christian Mom! I’m new to your blog, but I’ll definitely be back. Loved your post about Peanut’s birthday; I wrote a letter to my baby last week too! Be blessed.

  2. Peanut is ONE ? YEY !!
    Oh, I miss your face……can’t wait to see you friend.

    xoxo
    jen

    Ps….I don’t tell you often, but I read your blog still – thanks for posting so often. It’s helpful for reflection yes/no? 🙂

    Still praising the Lord with you for your sweetest baby girl!

Leave a Reply

