Another day’s work

Ever since I posted The List, I’ve had several inquiries regarding the time I saved someone’s life.

During the summer of 2004, I worked at a K-6 grade summer program through the YMCA.  We started early, ended late, and were responsible for upwards of 70 kids between the 6 of us who worked each day.   It was an extension of a bef0re- and after-school program that ran during the school year.

One of the regular activities we did during the summer was visit the school’s outdoor pool.  It was a fairly small pool, probably 40′ square, ranged in depth from 3′ to 5′ and usually had 3 lifeguards on duty.

One afternoon, as I was sitting on the edge of the pool in my bucket hat, I noticed in the swarm of children a little face popping up and down in the 5′ end.  With a quick glance at the lifeguards, I realized none of them were the least bit aware of it, so I threw off my hat and jumped into the pool.  After I brought Isabelle, who had just graduated kindergarten, to the edge of the pool, she was badly shaken and sputtering.  By this time, obviously, the lifeguards were aware of what happened and came over to assist with her, making sure she wasn’t in shock or hadn’t inhaled too much water.  It’s one of those memories that kicks my adrenal glands into gear just thinking about it.

So there you have it–nothing overly-heroic or exciting.

How about you?   Any other life-savers out there?

6 thoughts on “Another day’s work

  1. That was overly heroic.

    Mine is a long story. I’ll tell you when we get together. I didn’t actually save anyone, I was just the first one at the scene of a really disturbing accident. And I helped. But didn’t save.

    Life is so crazy.

    Happy weekend, lady.

  2. I’d call that heroic! Glad you were paying close attention and happened to notice her flailing about; how neat that you were so instrumental in giving her story a happy ending.

    I’ve never saved anybody, but once I helped my neighbor when her little boy (who I often babysat) went through a glass door face first. I tried to keep pressure on as many of his awful gashes as I could while she drove (probably at mach 3) to the hospital. Weird, considering I’m usually pretty squeamish when it comes to blood. The “little boy” is in HS now, which makes me feel really old. 🙂

Leave a comment