My Funny Valentine

Husband’s parents came to watch Anja yesterday.  Husband took the day off work to treat me to…………………a DATE!

Valentine Cookies

Our dates are few and far between, so when they are kind enough to come spend time with our daughter, we sure as heck get out of the house for a while!  And what a day–we started with a 3D movie at the Imax theater called Under the Sea.  It was narrated by Jim Carrey and had some cute humor worked in, but it was very preachy.  Seriously, why does EVERY MOVIE OR SHOW about nature have to have jabs about global warming in it?  We think, Yay, fun movie about fish! They think, How many small children can I indoctrinate? Ugh.  Conservation is one thing, but this constant barrage of unproven “facts” about global warming really gets my goat.  End rant.

After that we had an early lunch and brought home some for his family.  Then off we went to the Science Museum.  We viewed two new exhibits, Water and Goose Bumps, and saw Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk (which wasn’t as preachy simply because its message was portrayed as conservation from the get-go).  I’ve never had the privilege of visiting the Grand Canyon, but I think this film finally put into perspective the sheer size of it.  Jeepers, it’s big!

Following the museum, we had dinner at the MOA version of Olive Garden, Tucci Benucch.  Husband’s tortellini with prosciutto, mushrooms and peas was quite delicious, but I was left wanting something more with my sad little Marguerita pizza.  No tomatoes, just sauce.  He happily shared with me, though.  Isn’t he swell?  And he didn’t think my pizza was that bad (did not share my expectations).  Guess who will get to eat the leftovers tomorrow?  🙂

We stopped back by the house to change, and then we went and shot hoops at the gym.  What a sad pair we were, missing left and right (it has been several years since either of us have played).  But we had fun!  And I beat him at HORSE twice.  Heh heh.  Then we soaked in a giant hot tub.  The end.

What are you doing for Valentine’s Day?  Or not doing?

Cookie dough

Unfortunately, the frosted version of these were eaten before I remembered to photograph them. You know me and cookies!

8 thoughts on “My Funny Valentine

  1. We are going to see “New in Town,” followed by a trip to our town’s fine-dining, Outback. Your Valentine’s outing sounds like it was lots of fun. Too bad there’s nothing like that to do here!

  2. We are spending the night home together as a family. I’ll make spaghetti and garlic bread, and we’ll eat by candlelight on china. The kids get a kick out of that. Then we’ll enjoy a Sara Lee French Silk Pie!
    Glad you had fun on your date! You sure were busy. I haven’t been to the science museum in YEARS!

  3. Wow, a whole day filled with fun! Good for you guys! We celebrated last night also with dinner and a movie. We have been to a show in ages! Prices have soared since then! Tonight we are going to spend as a family – grill some T-Bones and finish off with some apple dumplings! Yum! Happy Valentines Day!

  4. Darin took me out on Thursday to the Irishman’s Shanty…you know…C-Town’s version of….well…the Irishman’s Shanty. (We had a coupon, Darin got Chicken and 1/2 rack of ribs and I got a prime rib for 22 dollars! Including beverage!) We went to the Movie Mall Cop, we loved it, but you have to love that dumb funny kinda movie. He works tonight, so it is a date with me and the sister-in-law (who was proposed marriage to last valentines day and the engagement has since been broken)

  5. So great that you had a date! 🙂 Our kids have bad colds, so no babysitters. We had homemade Chicken Noodle Soup and blueberry muffins for supper, and brownies sprinkled with tiny candy heart sprinkles, which son #1 promptly decided he didn’t like the brownies because they had *gasp* chocolate chips in them!!!! More for me, I guess! Then we watched the movie Juno after we put the kids to bed. We’ll have time for Valentine dates someday when the kids are older – such a nice treat when you can get them. 🙂

  6. That sure sounds like a fun day! (Agreed about the preachiness of most kids’ shows though……argh!)
    We stayed in and made pesto pizza, watched a pretty lame movie and ate chocolate chip cookie dough cheesecake that we made on Friday night. Yum! And then we felt gross so we went to bed. 🙂

  7. Im so jealous you got to do both things I want to do so bad… go to the zoo and see Under the Sea and the Grand Canyon at the Science Muesum, you will have to let me know exactly how they were, I want to take my kids to see them both… and Im jealous of my 4th grader too he gets to go to the science muesum next tuesday for school!! I so glad he gets to go there though!

    Just wanted to stop by and say Hi, since I been watching ur blog for alil while now and you are local too!!

    I am trying to get my hand on regularly posting, hopefully things will slow down and we will get our lil one back in our home next week at court…. Im sure things will not slow down though, but I will somehow start making time for blogworld… i do enjoy.

    Well have a great day! and enjoy MinneSNOWta too!!

    Andrea Taylor

Leave a Reply

