2009 goals update 03.06.09

More self-accountability here for 2009.

1. Spend daily time in prayer and the Word (I used to do this no problem, but since Anja was born, my discipline in this area has slipped)
I am doing much better in this area.  I have been reading through Luke, inductively studying Jeremiah for a women’s book group, and going through the book The Treasure Principle with my small group, all which keep me in the Word throughout the week.  This week in particular has been better prayer-wise.  I pray every day at bedtime and throughout the day, but what I am really striving for is a daily time of repentance and intercessory prayer for others.

2. Read 2 photography books
Almost done with one.

3. Read 1 Photoshop book
Haven’t started, but I have been handed the assigned book by Husband.  It is huge, dauntingly fat like a textbook, 674 pages just sitting there, sneering at me.  What a jerk (the book, not Husband).

4. Book an average of 4 on-location sessions and 1 wedding each month
Have booked some weddings, hoping for more sessions.  And seniors!  I desperately need some Class of 2010 seniors!   I have a fun shoot with a bunch of brides next week; can’t wait to post some of those images.

5. Sell our townhome and purchase a home with a $500 less per month payment
A couple of weird inquiries, but nothing serious yet.  Doesn’t help that the market is flooded and no one is buying.  Oh well, trusting God.

6. Organize an office for myself (instead of using the dining room table…)
Still waiting for the house in which to do it.  🙂

7. Have a baby or get pregnant
Not so much.

8. Lose 10-15 lbs.
I think I’ve lost about 2, but it could come back.  I fluctuate so much it’s hard to ever say.  More on this later…

9. Make healthier meals most nights each week (fell off the bandwagon slightly in mid-November and haven’t recovered yet)
I’m still loving that Lentil Chili Soup.  I’ve been snacking on hummus and veggies more and on cookies and cereal less.  *Pats self on back*

10. Reduce grocery bill to $250/month (this could be the hardest one…seriously)
Ahem…STILL waiting to see what the budget reflects (Husband calculates).

4 thoughts on “2009 goals update 03.06.09

  1. Ah, man!!! Congrats on your goals. I would totally help you out with booking photo shoots, being as I am a class of 2010 senior! Too bad I live alllll the way out in California. 😦

    Good luck, looks like you’re doing well! The year still has 9 1/2 months! (the baby is possible! :)!

    Alex 🙂

  2. When you borrow a Photoshop book with a deadline to return it, it helps get the job done. I have to cruise through 500 pages by Monday afternoon. I’m taking notes as fast as I can….

    As for grocery shopping…I’ve found that if I can menu plan for two weeks instead of just one, then the second week I only have to pick up a few fresh items. It’s been saving us money to do this.
    If menu planning is daunting…try this trick:
    Monday: Chicken
    Tuesday: Mexican
    Wednesday: Italian
    Thursday: Breakfast type food
    Friday: Pizza
    Saturday: Crockpot
    Sunday: Left overs

    We don’t necessarily eat things on the ‘correct’ day, but it ensures I get MEALS at the grocery store and not just a bunch of random ingredients that require a bunch more (expensive) trips to the store every other day to round out a recipe.

    One way I’ve infused more connection with God during the day is that every single time we get in the car I talk to God out loud. It sets a great example for the kids, keeps me from letting my mind wander during prayer time, and it’s easy to be consistent about it We also do our “thankfuls” at bedtime with the kids. Each family member has to say something they are thankful for and something they are sorry for. Even my 2 1/2 year old is able to reflect on the day. The connection we all feel to each other and the reminder that God will Always forgive us is wonderful.

    p.s.
    I have a wordpress question for you when you have a second to write back.

Leave a Reply

