Here, Try Some Recipes

This past week I made several new recipes, AND they’re all online so they’re easy for me to share with you as well!

First off was Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions.  I had a big wheel of Brie on hand and have always wanted to try baked Brie.  This recipe was not disappointing!  And it was pretty easy.  The only thing I did differently was mash the roasted garlic and serve it on the side.  I served it with crackers, but some pieces had so much puff pastry they didn’t really need crackers.

Next was 7-Layer Meatless Tortilla Pie.  I took a picture of it before it went into the oven:

Tortilla Pie

Husband, who is not a fan of beans, liked it despite the fact that it contains 3 cans of the offenders. Both Anja and I gobbled it up as well.

Last, and probably my favorite of the three was Hearty Vegetable Soup.  I’m not always a huge fan of tomato-based soups, but this one pleasantly surprised me.  It is, like the previous two items, vegetarian, but oh so delicious!  Husband actually raved about this one, and Anja also enjoyed it a lot.  I did make some negligible changes to this recipe, listed here in case you care:

1. I didn’t have a leek on hand, so I added a bit more onion, probably a full cup.

2.  I cooked the carrots, onion, celery and potatoes in a little olive oil in the stock pot for 7-10 minutes before adding the rest.  Helps soften the up a bit.

3. I used barley instead of rice (Quaker Medium Pearled).

4. I added 1/2 tsp. sea salt (because I used low-sodium juice) as well as more water and tomato juice.

Helpful note: This recipe makes a LOT of soup.  We ate it for 3 or 4 meals!

These meals may seem rather heavy to those of you who are now grilling out every night, but remember that we got snow two days ago and are still wearing winter coats.  🙂

6 thoughts on “Here, Try Some Recipes

  1. Pingback: Meal Planning – Seasonal Suggestions « Minnesota Mom

Leave a Reply

