A beautiful, 63 degree day in July

Seriously, Minnesota?  I always tell myself that since I complain on the cold end of the spectrum, I am not allowed to complain when it’s pushing 100.  Well…this July we haven’t even had a day that has topped 90 yet.  What is UP?  Please, Lord, send a little heat.

Husband and I had dentist appointments this morning.  My teeth and gums are squeaky clean (thanks to my regimen of regular brushing, flossing and Juice Plus+!).  Anja and I were planning to walk around Centennial Lakes (love that place!) afterward, but it was super windy and the temp was barely 60.  So we stopped by the Mall of America instead and tooled around the Nickelodeon-themed park in the middle.  Even though I will thoroughly enjoy accompanying Anja on rides when she’s older (especially the spinny ones), I am thankful that she’s at the age where she doesn’t really care whether she goes on them.  She’s happy just to give play-by-play: “Look!  Up and down, roun’ and roun’ it goes.  Oooooooh!”  *happy shrieks, kicking legs*

It’s so delightful for me to watch her enjoying herself.  The common expression “living through the eyes of your child” describes my experience exactly.  Everything is new and exciting and fun.  Sponge Bob happened to be making an appearance at the MOA.  We have never watched Sponge Bob, and Anja has no clue who he is, but suddenly we found ourselves coloring a picture for him and waiting in line to give him a hug and the picture.

We interrupt this naptime post to report a silly baby moment.  She was letting out little yelps, so I went into her room to check on her.  She had emptied all her bedding and stuffed animals out of her crib and gotten her shirt half-off, so the sleeves were still on her arms but the front of her shirt was stretched up over her head, stuck.  “Neck hurt!” she said as I helped her fix it.  What a weirdo.

I stopped to look at maternity clothes a few places, but none of the fall stuff was on sale yet.  We got some lunch at Qdoba and shared, then we walked some more.

Even though our plans changed, we still had a great time together.  Now I’m going to take a nap myself.  🙂

5 thoughts on “A beautiful, 63 degree day in July

  1. Sounds like a perfectly delightful day! Hope you enjoyed your nap–I stole a few winks while cuddling with Zachie in front of the TV this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

