Popcorn “pops” even more inside your belly…

Or at least, it sure feels like it!  I just made this phenomenal (and easy!) kettle corn for the second time this month, and ate probably 4 cups of it.  Ouch!  That’s hard for an already-squished belly to take.  But Joy’s right…it’s like an addictive drug.

Tip: Don’t use old kernels.  We bought new before we made it a second time and they popped up SO much lighter and fluffier.

——–

Pregnant rant: Why is it that, when I tell people I’ve popped a lot earlier with this baby than I did with Anja, they feel compelled to console me with, “Oh, I don’t think you’re even showing…”  That is NOT comforting, people!  At 14 weeks, I’ve gained 8 pounds, and a lot of it is in my hinder and my thighs, just like last time, but my belly is already far enough out that I have resorted to maternity skirts (no pants yet…still using my Bella Bands and waiting it out) for comfort, and most of my normal shirts are a smidge too tight to be appropriate.  So to gain 6 inches in the waist and be told I’m not showing…that’s just an insult to how I looked before.  I was not this fat!  I swear!  End rant.  The hormones, they made me do it.

10 thoughts on “Popcorn “pops” even more inside your belly…

  1. Can’t wait to make this kettle corn. I love kettlecorn! We always buy, and sometimes get for free, from a guy that Eric works with that does it for a side business. I am right there with you….I guarantee I can eat at least 4 cups. I can easily eat a whole bag of microwave popcorn myself. 🙂 Popcorn is good for you, especially when you make it yourself, no guilt.
    🙂

  2. Amen, Sister! (to your rant) With my second, I couldn’t wear my regular pants after 8 weeks!! Not to maternity yet, but I needed maternity at 12 weeks. I got the same comments. Take hope, though. With my third, I didn’t look truly pregnant until I was almost 20 weeks. My shape changed, but still not nearly as much as with number 2! (Not that you probably have any desire to think about being pregnant again, with this pregnancy still in the “yucky” phase, but still…) 🙂

  3. EXACTLY. When I was pregnant with Emma, I had people continually telling me I didn’t even look pregnant. I wanted to say, “Nice. So I always look this fat?” That is not a compliment, people, it’s an insult!!!!!

  4. I was so excited to find the invention of the bella band- but it only helped me prolong the inevitable for about an extra 2 weeks. I was reluctant to start wearing maternity pants as early as I did (14 weeks with first baby), but it felt so good! Now I love maternity clothes- no more waistbands digging in! 🙂

  5. Okay…I need a calorie count on that popcorn. I’ve already made it THREE times! Thankfully only two of the four kids like it–more for ME!

    Thanks for sharing.

  6. Hi! I’m new to your blog and just stumbled upon it. Sparked my interest because I too am from MN! I can SO relate to the whole “popping” out early with your second issue! My second daughter will be 9 months old on Wednesday. I was definitely bigger with her than I was with my first! I had to buy a whole new set of maternity clothes toward the end because I got so big!

  7. Kettle corn sounds wonderful! I’m going to try it! I’m sure it is obvious you are pregnant and not weight challenged (grin) ! BTW your photos are incredible ;o)

  8. Don’t fret, I wasn’t in maternity clothes until close to 6 months with Otto, I lasted 11 weeks with Sena. Don’t know what it is about that 2nd one that makes you grow so much faster?!? Did you seem to forget how insensitive/ignorant people are when you are pregnant? I couldn’t stand how people (some strangers!?) would just walk up and rub my baby belly…ugh…hands to yourself people!!! And get ready for the ‘oh I bet you’re hoping for a boy since you already have a girl!!’ comments…those kind of comments drove me nuts!
    By the way, I’m sure you look GREAT!

  9. It’s crazy how much faster you show with the second, hey? I was shocked!
    I’m still not out of my mat. jeans…..which is great because they’re so comfortable but I’m really staring down the realization now that I can’t stay in them forever….*sigh*

  10. Pingback: Meal Planning – Seasonal Suggestions « Minnesota Mom

Leave a Reply

