Two

It’s Anja’s second birthday today.  I woke her with the “Happy Birthday Song,” took her out to breakfast, picked her up some beautiful flowers and tasty food for her party tomorrow, and have been drilling her all day on how old she is (all week she has responded with a cheerful “Six!” but today she’s finally starting to say, “Two!”).

At least five times she has asked for “special birthday cake” (as in “Where is it, Mom?  You promised there would be some!”), and I’ve had to tell her that Mommy hasn’t had a chance to make it yet, but hopefully tonight.  I didn’t realize that the birthday performance pressure would come from her, and that it would come this early.  I thought I’d have at least until she turned 4 or 5 before I had to be completely prepared the day of!  🙂

Two is so old.  I sat on the couch with her last night, reading a book, then forcing her to cuddle (she’s not fond) one last time as my one year old.  But Husband is right–today she is just a day older, and celebrate we must.  Even if it’s hard.

8 thoughts on “Two

  1. happy birthday, anja!
    i know my sweet girl’s first 7 months have flown. can’t imagine having a 2 year old…i am in denial that that will actually happen. =)

  2. Awww!! What a sweet post. Her birthday is the day after my own, and the day before My Beloved’s. A great day, to be sure! Congratulations to your new 2 year old, and to you, for being such a great mommy!

  3. Aww, happy birthday. Just wait, Heidi, by next year, she’ll not only want the cake on her birthday, she’ll tell you exactly what kind of cake and how she wants it frosted! 😉

  4. Oh, I’m late! Happy belated birthday, Anja!
    I hope you had a fun celebration!

    Our LG says ‘two ‘about everything now. She likes to point out how there are two of this or two of that. But it’s either that or “SAME!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

