Sunday Sunshine 11.01.09 – Rotund Edition

This is the first time I’ve posted any pregnancy pictures anywhere this time around…I’ve gained about the same amount as I did with Anja, but I’m decidedly more rotund (as discussed earlier).  I’m 29 weeks along.  We don’t know what we’re having.  The pregnancy has been much the same as it was with her, just more water retention (lay off the carbs, said my midwife), more hip pain at night, and I’m carrying a little lower.  Could be a boy, could be a girl, and I can’t wait to meet him/her!

IMG_4916

I’ve been really bad at updating this baby’s pregnancy journal.  I had so much more time when I was pregnant with Anja, though.  I was only working 4 days a week at my construction job, one at home, and I didn’t have a toddler to run after.  These past couple months I’ve been working 20 hours outside the home (plus about 3 hours per week of commute and picking up at daycare), 30-40 hours a week at home, plus watching Anja full time on the days I’m home.  Sleep has been lacking and stress has been plentiful—not the best conditions for growing a baby!

Speaking of which, this past Thursday was my last day at my construction job.  After many months of prayer and a unique opportunity, we have decided to take the plunge into having me home full time.  My photography business has pretty much supplanted my construction income, so it was either return to work full time when the baby arrives to be able to afford two kids in daycare or take this step of faith.  I’ll miss my co-workers, but they’ve invited me to visit anytime, and having me home with our kids is something Husband and I have wanted for our family since we got married.

Any prayers for my sanity are much appreciated!  Though it is wonderful to have 23 more hours in the week to be taking care of things at home, I don’t anticipate my photography workload slowing down much until close to Christmas (and the baby is due just a couple weeks later).  I think  I will savor my maternity leave this time SOOOO much more.  🙂

16 thoughts on “Sunday Sunshine 11.01.09 – Rotund Edition

  1. You look beautiful, Heidi! And congratulations on your step of faith. It can be so hard to step out of our comfortable zones like that, but this is a decision I feel confident that the Lord will bless. I have never regretted being home with my babies full time, even when things feel a bit tighter financially. And I don’t know how on earth you wait to find out whether you are having a boy or a girl – I don’t know if I could do that! I’m looking forward to finding out what *you’re* having, much less waiting to find out what *I* was having, if I were expecting!

  2. Sounds like everything’s on the right track! I hear ya on the water retention. Some nights I look about 7 months pregnant and then by the next morning I’m down to 4 months again. It’s so uncomfortable to feel bloated! But yeah I guess it’s our own faults for scarfing the carbs (*ahem* chocolate) and I know for me, not drinking enough water.

    I’m also having hip pain, but I think it’s due to having to sleep on my side at night. Time to buy a body pillow!!!

    Praying you can enjoy the remaining 11 weeks of pregnancy despite a busy work schedule!

  3. Heidi, I’ve been hoping for a pregnancy pic! You look great. Also so glad to hear that you will be home full time. I hope the extra time at home will help reduce your stress and give you more enjoyment of you photography and your family. Miss you.

  4. You look beautiful! I’m so happy you decided to share a photo.

    You won’t regret being home with your babies, ever. You may have moments when you doubt that decision, though, and that is okay.

    Look at the clock when it happens. It will be between 4-6 pm, I guarantee.

    I am going on record to predict you are having a boy.

  5. Oh my, what a pretty pregnant lady you are (again)!

    Now that I think of it, what’s Anja’s take on the whole deal? Last I (remember) hearing was at the ultrasound when she wanted to “look at anja” and not Baby… 🙂

  6. Yeah–good for you! I’m glad you’ll be able to replace your income with your photography job. I think I’ve said this before . . . I want to be you when I grow up. 🙂

    You look great!

  7. You look great, Heidi! Thrilled to hear the good news that you will be able to stay at home with your little ones, and will definitely be praying for you in coming weeks. 🙂

  8. Yes, what Gretchen said.

    You really do look beautiful, and I’m so happy for you that you’ve made this decision since it’s what was in your hearts for your family’s plan.

    If I can stay sane (somewhat) I KNOW you can do it 🙂

  9. You are very adorable with your belly! 🙂 Seriously! I don’t think you will regret staying home with your babies – I have been so much less stressed since we made that decision. And there will be days where you can’t figure out what you do all day (because two little ones can un-do a lot!) but you can’t get these days back once they’re gone. Find a good Moms group for support and social when you need it. I have been blessed by wonderful friends at MOPS and a group at my church. Are you going to Pioneer Woman’s book signing? I see she will be in your area (or was she already -I’m losing track). I am loving looking through her book!

    • Hi Dawn,

      I joined MOPS last year and love it, too. It’s so good to connect with other moms. I sure hope to get to PW’s book signing–I’ve had it on my calendar since I found out. I just hope my book arrives in time! 🙂

      Heidi

Leave a Reply

