The Stove

Mom’s old stove/oven…it’s seen better days, but keeps on ticking.  I’ve pulled countless pans of cookies, warm buns, caramel rolls, and bars out of that oven.  Mom’s pulled most of them, actually, but I helped with the eating part.

Stove 2 112709

And I’ve stirred pots of soup, skillets of gravy, double boilers of frosting on this stove.  Mom plans to re-do the kitchen sometime, and it will probably make way for something newer and fancier, which is fine.  But it won’t be the same.  Why do I get so attached to silly things like cars, ovens, even towels?

Stove 112709

Here’s my favorite sugar cookie recipe. So yummy!

Joan’s Sugar Cookies

350 degrees/6-8 minutes

Cream together:
3/4 c. soft shortening (Crisco)
1 c. white sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. vanilla

Sift together and stir in:
2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt

Chill at least one hour Roll out 1/8″ thick. Cut in desired shapes, sprinkle with colored sugar if desired, and bake on ungreased baking sheet. Bake until delicately golden.

Once cooled, you can frost them:
4 c. powdered sugar
1/4 lb. (one stick) melted butter
Pour butter over sugar and mix. Add evaporated milk for spreading consistency.

We also like to add food coloring or sprinkles to ours, depending on the holiday. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “The Stove

  1. After your status on FB do I dare make these cookies?!?! 😉

    And once your mom moves out of her house it will be even worse. My mom moved out of her house this spring after 30+ years. I haven’t been back home since before the move so I still visualize her living in the same childhood house and neighborhood I’d ever known. (Though it had always put me in a somber/short-fused mood whenever I stayed there after my dad died b/c of all the memories. It will be a bittersweet “homecoming” at Christmas, that’s for sure!)

    I would have probably taken last pictures too, if I had thought of it. *sigh* I love sentimental people like me!

  2. Pingback: 10 about Christmas « Minnesota Mom

Leave a Reply

