2009 Goals Update 12.19.09

I think it’s been since July that I’ve done this (so sad), but thought I’d at least see how I’m ending the year…

1. Spend daily time in prayer and the Word (I used to do this no problem, but since Anja was born, my discipline in this area has slipped)

This has been pretty good in the past couple of months.  I know it will probably lapse again when the new baby comes, so I will enjoy it now while it lasts!

2. Read 2 photography books

Finished with one. Started a second. Can’t even remember if I finished.  Sad!

3. Read 1 Photoshop book

Then one I was reading became obsolete when I upgraded to CS4 and Lightroom (which I have had since August but haven’t even installed yet because I haven’t had time to deal with learning new stuff).  Last night Husband brought me home two books from a co-worker about Lightroom, so that will probably be my new goal book.

4. Book an average of 4 on-location sessions and 1 wedding each month

Was able to quit my other job and stay home with the kids thanks to my wonderful clients. Now booking 2010!

5. Sell our townhome and purchase a home with a $500 less per month payment

Nothing.  Market is too saturated with foreclosures and cheap townhomes.  If we don’t sell in a year, we’ll probably end up refinancing and staying here.  Prayer appreciated!

6. Organize an office for myself (instead of using the dining room table…)

Still waiting for the house in which to do it.

7. Have a baby or get pregnant

Second part of this goal attained!

8. Lose 10-15 lbs.

This will probably carry over to 2010 in the form of 20 lbs.

9. Make healthier meals most nights each week

Healthy has been balanced, at this time of year, with feasts with family and friends and too many baked goods.  Oh well.  I’m trying not to make a fuss, as long as we’re healthy.

10. Reduce grocery bill to $250/month (this could be the hardest one…seriously)

I pretty much consider this, as I mentioned in July, a giant FAIL for the year.  We probably spend $30-40 a week just on produce, and I have no idea how to reduce other things without compromising our health (as in I’m not about to start cooking from boxes just to save $).  Nor am I willing to buy 47 bottles of Pert Plus and 13 bottles of Tide just to get in-store credit at CVS.  I do clip coupons whenever I can and take advantage of sales.  If any of you have been able to cook primarily from scratch (we do store-buy things like tortillas, crackers, cereal, some canned goods, etc.) for $250 a month or less, I am all ears as to how I can save some dough!

5 thoughts on “2009 Goals Update 12.19.09

  1. Oh Heidi, I sooo hear you about the in-store “credit” that is offered at CVS and the like. I peruse blogs that talk about how they bought $200 of groceries and only spend $3.60 out of pocket… but at what cost? For the 47 bottles of Pert they have stored in their already cramped pantry, closets and cabinets? I’m with you on this…

    We spend an astronomical amount of money on food. BUT… we eat EVERY meal at the house, with the exception of 1 meal – and that is Saturday night – our family date night meal. So, breaking it down, 3 meals a day for 7 days = 21 meals (minus 1 weekend meal); 20 meals/memeber x 4 family members = 80 meals (plus snacks) that our $200/week groceries provides. Yes, A WEEK! Once you look at it that way… you really are winning in the end.

  2. I’m in the same position as you are with Lightroom, except mine is installed. I took 400 photos of the Christmas production at our church and our college daughter edited them all on Lightroom today, without ever having used it before. She loved it and said if she was into photography, she would only use that. She’s pretty used to Photoshop but she said Lightroom is much more intuitive. Maybe we should just take 1/2 hour and go for it!!!

  3. Yeah groceries are hard. I am constantly looking for ways to save money there with the same issues. I have finally come to the conclusion that if there is an area of our budget that I want to “splurge” on it’s what we put into our bodies. That doesn’t mean that I don’t sweat a little as I watch the numbers go up on the register 🙂

  4. Do you have a membership at costco?
    It’s looking like it’ll be well worth it in diaper expense ALONE…….(our original reason for joining)
    Brent and I recently started our membership there, and it’s been amazing….(we eat TONS of produce….PLUS, they have the BOMB dried fruit/nut Kirkland blend….oh, so tasty)
    They have AMAZING pears, apples and bulk salad deals.

    This might help you out friend?
    yer buddy,
    jen

  5. We struggle with the grocery bill too, and it’s still just us two. Although I’m hoping to make baby food rather than buy. As a SAHM I have no excuse, right?

    I have also been trying to cook triple batches (?) of meals to freeze now that we have a chest freezer, and it has been helpful to have quick re-heat meals that are still homemade. I dread the end of soup/casserole season since these stretch the furthest.

Leave a Reply

