Christmas-y Craft #2

I made this (plus two more) early in December, but I couldn’t post them because, you know, some of my family reads my blog!

Garland 1 120209

Anyway, it’s a garland completely inspired by The Nester (tutorial here).  I used jute twine for my base and just cut cloth into strips of similar length, then tied them around the ornaments I’d attached.  The cloth-cutting is a bit tedious, but after that the project goes quickly.

Garland 2 120209

Now I’m thinking of making a big one to hang on my balustrade, which is currently nekkid.  😉

4 thoughts on “Christmas-y Craft #2

  1. Very cute! I bet a rotary cutter would make this project much easier.

    BTW, this is exactly how you make a tutu! But it’s easier because the tulle comes in strips and there’s less cutting.

    • Yeah, I’ve never used a rotary cutter…honestly, I don’t probably do enough sewing to merit having one. And don’t you need a big mat to use it with, too?

      I made two white tutus the first spring after Anja was born, one for her and one for a photography prop. Just used elastic instead of twine to tie it onto. I think next time I might use a pretty ribbon, since the elastic has gotten stretched out of shape and kind of stays that way since it’s held by the tulle.

  2. Hi Mom-

    I’m Judd Corizan from the blog Sunday Stealing and we ripped off your meme again! You might remember that every week we rip a meme off someone’s blog. Today we chose yours. We give you full credit and link back to your blog. The great thing is that a lot of previous “victims” such as yourself have become regular players! We usually publish the blog between 3 and 6 PM EST Saturday. We usually get between 50 to 80 people who play and comment on each other’s responses. So you can see we’ve grown since way back then! And a lot of our players are previous victims of our theft like you! We hope you play along in the weeks to come! Thank you and have a great day…

  3. Pingback: My Take on the Burlap Wreath « Minnesota Mom

Leave a Reply

