Spice Drawer, a.k.a. The Spice is Right

I’ve seen lots of innovative ways to store spices here and there on the internet, but I have to admit, I’ve never found one that works as well for me as this system.

When we lived in Fargo, I stored my spices in the cupboard, and I found I was always, even with them on risers, unable to see the labels.  Then I ended up knocking bottles over, which of course produced the domino effect, and I would get uber-frustrated.

Enter the drawer.  I am blessed, in my current kitchen, to have a lot of cupboard space and seven (!) drawers.  I relegated some things that would normally be housed in drawer to the cupboards, and voila!  Two drawers dedicated solely to spices!  I can always see the labels, and I never upset the contents of the drawer while pulling out a spice. For most people one drawer might be enough, but I’m a bit of a spice junkie. We make many varieties of food around here, so you never know when you might need curry powder or Spanish paprika or turmeric.

Spices 012710

Do you have a favorite spice? I am in love with cumin. And thyme. I put them in all sorts of stuff. Ginger is right up there, too. Great on meats, in baked goods, stir fry…

Spices 2 012710

The best part? These drawers don’t really have to be that organized. I only used the silverware tray because I had it–you can just toss the spices in a drawer and they’re still easier to access than in the cupboard.

5 thoughts on “Spice Drawer, a.k.a. The Spice is Right

  1. I love cumin too. We use it frequently… which reminds me, I’m out! 😦

    You just can’t go wrong with coarse sea salt and fresh cracked pepper. I’ve always been a fan of the multi-purpose steak seasonings too!

    I’ve also found chipotle powder which offers a unique smoky/spicy flavor. (Mucho expensive, though…)

  2. That’s a great idea!! With 7 drawers myself you’d think I might be able to spare one. My favorite spices lately are Middle Eastern. I have one called kibbeh spice and I like to put it in any chicken broth based soup. De-ricious.

  3. LOVE IT! Totally envious of a spare drawer to store spices in. Not a 10 Commandments breaking kind of envy, but I so wish I had more than 4 drawers in my kitchen so I caould do the drawer storage bit! I have them on a rack on the door now and that works OK bu tI wish they were put out of sight. I evenn had a fabulous spice drawer stacking thingy that was absolutely the best! It’s still stashed in the garage somewhere for the day when we’re no longer renters and I can have the spice drawer of my dreams! 🙂

    Oh, and I’m a coriander girl myself. Not so much for the cumin although I recognize it’s significance to my beloved Mexican food! Don’t even get me started on my spice catalog addicition! 🙂

  4. I *wish* I had something like that for all of my spices too! I am the same way. Oh, and we are big cumin people around her too.

  5. I need to empty a couple junk drawers first if I’m going to try this! I think the best part is that it would cut down on almost accidentally using the wrong spice (like cinnamon instead of chili powder or something) in a dish.

    I use rosemary a lot. I throw it in mashed potatoes, over pork chops, as part of a rub for crock pot chicken, etc.

    One of my favorite “secret” spices is a satay spice blend from Pensey’s. I use it on baked chicken, in casseroles, everything. Though I have yet to make actual satay! 🙂

    I saw the award meme – fun! My problem is I tend to feel guilty whenever I take time to blog so I avoid it by keeping busy with tasks that appear more noble. Which is bunk. And which makes the award ironically fitting and timely.

Leave a Reply

