Home Cookin’

No matter how busy I am, one thing I make time for is cooking wholesome meals for my family. Last night I made Pioneer Woman’s Chicken Pot Pie (recipe in her cookbook), however, and though it was made from scratch, it veered much more toward “comfort food” than “healthful dining option.” But good gravy (pun very much intended), was it DELICIOUS!

Other meals as of late:

  • Baked potatoes with broccoli and cheese
  • Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes w/bacon, eggs and fruit (another of those comfort foods from the same cookbook)
  • Potato Lasagna
  • Homemade pizza
  • Pad Thai (from Vegan with a Vengeance)
  • Meatless chef salads (we eat that usually at least once a week)
  • Chicken Flautas with guac, sour cream and refried beans
  • Veggie stir fry
  • Fresh-baked bread with veggies and fruit on the side

So though we don’t always eat conventionally (like breakfast for supper, more vegetarian than non), we try to get variety in our diet.  A blessing: Anja eats pretty much everything we eat.  Lately she even asks for more lettuce once she’s finished her salads!  And she really likes veggies and hummus for snacks.  She used to not touch raw carrots, but she has come around and likes them now.  That makes me so happy.  I hope Markus will at least give everything a try when he gets to eating age.

What are your family’s favorite meals?  I’m always looking for ideas!  Especially because we joined a CSA for the summer.  I’m going to have all sorts of new veggies to try out, and I’ll need recipes.

6 thoughts on “Home Cookin’

  1. Our favourite lately has been roasted asparagus and we always love a good salad with grilled chicken or a nice quiche.

    I sure wish the LG would eat that way…..she’s SO picky!

    Also, what is this potato lasagna you speak of? It sounds tasty!

  2. For the past 6 months I have been working on homemade pizza and found a new pizza stone at Goodwill!

    I’m so sick of the frozen pizza taste and the preservatives, but I so like pizza. My recipe: Betty Crocker’s sauce and dough recipe! Yumm!

  3. I found two vegetable recipes lately that I REALLY REALLY like. One Johanna posted on our blog for yummy brussels sprouts: http://thejosknow.blogspot.com/2009/11/yummy-brussels-sprouts.html. I could eat the entire pan of them all by myself, they’re that good.

    The other I found on Tasty Kitchen for asparagus with warm bacon vinagrette: http://thepioneerwoman.com/tasty-kitchen/recipes/sidedishes/asparagus-with-warm-bacon-vinaigrette/. The is the first home-made vinagrette that I’ve actually liked and it’s good on salads, too. You can control the ingredients so you can make it as healthy as you want. Even my husband like the asparagus this way and he usually really dislikes asparagus.

  4. I joined a CSA, too, and am excited to see how that goes. My sister-in-law and I are splitting a share to make it more affordable and make sure we don’t get overwhelemed and have eggplant coming out of our ears. Have you done it before?

  5. I am always looking for quick and easy, yet healthy meals for my family, too. Thanks for posting this! I personally love Wildtree foods (so does my family!). I guess that’s why I became a consultant for them. (Let me know if you’re interested, I’d be happy to send you some to review!)

Leave a Reply

