Sunday Sunshine – Health Edition 04.25.10

One luxury I am unwilling to give up, sadly, is my fitness membership. I go the gym 3x/week on a regular basis, and though we pay through the nose for our gym, I can’t imagine going without. We don’t have room for a treadmill or an at-home gym, and when I do things like the 30-day Shred, I have to modify a lot of moves to “fit” in the TV room.  Plus, even with at-home stuff, I would never have the ability to use the same amount of muscle groups that the machines and free weights at the gym allow me to.

An added benefit of belonging to our gym is that we get THE SINGLE BEST FITNESS/NUTRITION MAGAZINE I HAVE EVER READ with our membership.  I used to subscribe to Shape and Self back in the day, and while both were fine, I never read those magazines cover-to-cover like this one.  It is full of sensible, balanced advice from well-researched professionals.  There are inspiring stories of real weight loss from people who used diet and exercise to reach their goals.  No get-slim-quick stories here.  And the nutrition articles are top notch.  I get so so so so sick of reading articles about “Top 10 Low-Cal Snacks” in other magazines and finding recommendations like red licorice or a handful of Wheat Thins or other processed junk.  Low-Cal does not equal Healthy, and these writers know that.

Their spiritual advice doesn’t always apply to me, but I just skim past those things and take what’s worth taking and leave the rest.

I’m going to link to some of my favorite 2010 articles I’ve read so far…but feel free to browse around their website (I am not being paid for this plug–I just really like them!), where you’ll find a ton of great stuff.  And if you’re more like me and want to hold the magazine in your hands and see all the pretty pictures, you can subscribe to it without being a Lifetime member.  Without further ado…

Resolutions Workshop 2010

6 “Healthy” Eating Choices to Rethink

From Sedentary to Unstoppable

Fiber: Why It Matters More Than You Think*

8 Ways Exercise Makes You Gorgeous

Detox Done Right

*If you read none of the others, at least look at this one!

One thought on “Sunday Sunshine – Health Edition 04.25.10

  1. That sounds like a great magazine! Just the short blurb I read on artificial sweeteners really hit home with me. I know alarm bells go off with me whenever I read any product label that says no sugar or low fat. I’d rather eat stuff that’s real. I’ve used agave nectar before. If it wasn’t so expensive, I’d use it more. Thanks for the linkage!!

Leave a Reply

