The “More Kids” Debate

How many of you have had it with your spouses?

If Husband gets his way, we’re done.  If I get mine, I’d like to at least try for one more (though not anytime soon!).

Pros of one more:

  • A possible sister for Anja (built in best friend!)
  • A possible brother for Markus (built in wrestling buddy!)
  • Getting to use all those clothes one more time
  • I can’t think of a single family where they had only two opposite-sex siblings and they’ve remained close as adults (if you know of one, feel free to tell me!)
  • Anja should be old enough next time to be somewhat helpful, instead of tantrum-y and jealous
  • We make cute babies
  • I loooooooove newborns (never used to until we had our own)

Cons of one more:

  • Pregnancy
  • Labor and delivery (though I am considering an epidural if I ever do it again, which may??? make things be less dreadful)
  • Losing sleep
  • Throws my photography schedule out of whack, depending on when he/she is due
7 thoughts on “The “More Kids” Debate

  1. Two thoughts:
    1.) Epidural=awesome. Totally didn’t want one, never dreamed I would have one. Then I needed it, and I am telling you it was awesome.

    2.) My close friends from high school were brother and sister, a little over two years apart, they were great friends during high school (we all hung out together) and they are super close friends to this day.

  2. Yes. Epidurals are a gift from God. Awesomeness.

    I adore having three children. For me, the third time was the charm–it was so much easier, everything just gelled, Emma was the perfect end to our family.

    And for the record–Dan didn’t think we needed a third. I persisted, and now we don’t know what we’d do without Emma! 🙂

  3. My epidural did *not* make things less dreadful. Should have saved our insurance some big dollars. And myself of the side-effect risks. But would I try to get one again? Yes sir! Oh, that reminds me I need to finish my birth story. I’m almost to the pushing part. 🙂

  4. 1) We have the “more kids” debate nearly daily…but we have 6 kids.

    2) Sisters ROCK!!

    3) So sad that my parents only had two; me and my older brother. I never talk to him unless my parents force the phone on me. Very sad. We’re so very different.

    4) You guys make REALLY cute babies!!!!

    5) Pregnancy does suck.

    6) I’ve had an epidural for all my deliveries and only one sorta bad experience. With every baby they are less painful to get, wear off faster and I have more control over my legs. I can always tell when I need to push, I can feel if I’m pushing correctly. Really, it just allows me to rest so that when the pushing comes around, I’m ready to go. It literally just “takes the edge off.”

    7) In my experience, one more kid makes you grow and learn in so many ways.

    8) You guys make REALLY REALLY cute babies.

  5. We have had this debate 3 times so far. I have 3 kids. I want “just one more”!! He was able to be talked into #2 and #3. I can’t get #4 yet but am working hard on it!! I think going from #2 to #3 was hard and have heard that going from #3 to #4 is super easy. I just want more and more and more 🙂 Newborns rock!!

  6. Aren’t you and your brother close?

    We bring up the debate every so often, but same here, if hubby has his way, we are done. I am glad that they are of the same sex and will hopefully grow up and be best friends.

    I too LOVE newborns and miss having a newborn so bad.
    0-18 months is my favorite! You do make ADORABLE kids!
    I thought on our second child that labor and delivery was much easier. I wonder if it keeps getting easier each time? I got way too lucky with easy pregnancies and deliveries.

  7. Yes, we have that debate too. Dh would be done, and I want one more (we had twins last time–plus a 2 y/o–, and I really want just one next time). Nevertheless, neither of us are getting any younger. If it’s meant to be, then I guess it will happen, but if it’s not, then I guess I have to be okay with that. {sniff, sniff}

    And, from looking at the pictures, you DO make beautiful babies!

Leave a Reply

