Once Upon A December

Lots of updates!

We closed on our house last week, and my mom came to watch the kids while we began renovations.  We’ve never really DIYed many big projects, so we’re both cutting our handyman teeth on the house.  It is essentially move-in ready, but there are some cosmetics that (in our opinion) need updating, and we figured we might as well do it now so we can enjoy the changes rather than wait until it’s time to sell again (someday).  Here are some “before” shots I took.  Can’t promise I’ll be good about taking progress pictures, but eventually, there should at least be some “afters.”

Here’s the living room:

Kitchen/Dining:

Master bedroom:

Kids’ room (they’ll still share for now):

Family room:

Bedroom #3:

Office/Guest room:

We began by ripping off the trim.  Thought it would be easy, but they used 3″ Godzilla nails (as Husband calls them), and lots of them.  Plus the baseboards extended down to the subfloor, so the carpet kind of pins it to the wall as well. Within the first baseboard I did, we discovered mold under one of the pieces (joy!).  So Husband had a friend stop by to look it over, and they found more in the subfloor and the wall.  Thankfully, said friend knows a lot more about construction than we do, and he’s going to help Husband fix it up.  Hooray!

So while Husband continued to rip out trim and take down doors, I cleaned the ceilings and painted the ceiling in one bedroom.  I have had an impinged bicep tendon since I was 22, and I have to be really careful what I do if I want to keep the pain manageable.  As soon as I finished the painting job, I told Husband, “This is going to kill me tomorrow.”  Sure enough, two days later, I am still in so much pain I can barely get my own shirt on.  Le sigh.

We had two more fab friends stop by to help Husband with the painting Sunday, and I can’t wait to see the progress.

Markus came down with a double ear infection last week (and initiated me…Anja has never had one, so this is my first experience). Poor little guy was soooo fussy.  He’s on the mend, but Anja spiked a fever last night and has been really fussy and needy today.  She was up last night fussing every 10 minutes until around 4 a.m.  Gack.  It really makes me thankful that my kids are healthy most of the time.  Funny how God uses hard things to make you appreciate the blessings.

Husband said he wasn’t going to let me decorate for Christmas at home, since it is a “waste of time,” but after Anja asked multiple times if we could have a tree like Grandma’s, he gave in and brought up a miniature tree and the advent house from the garage.  I also took out Anja’s nativity so the kids can play with that.

So far we’ve really been enjoying our Jesse Tree devotions and Advent activities.  I will admit that I’m probably more excited about both things than Anja is.  🙂

6 thoughts on “Once Upon A December

  1. Ooh, the new house looks really spacious! Can’t wait to see some after pics. Of course, we’ve been in our house 10 years and some rooms are still in their Before state. 🙂 Is the new house in the same suburb as the old one?

    Hope your arm is better soon!

  2. I think you may need some decorating tips- here it goes- you need to keep the valance that is in the kids room 🙂 and really- I think all the drapery is totally you 🙂 There you have it- tips from the not-so-expert. House looks great.

  3. Your new place looks really nice! I can’t wait to see the after pictures and come visit someday! Are those the colors that the rooms are being painted that you have splashed on a couple of the walls?

  4. Wow! Thanks for posting pictures – now I feel guilty about not putting any pictures of my house up…I agree with you about making the changes right away, why make all the changes for someone else and not enjoy yourself – can’t wait to see what you do, I’m sure it will look awesome!

  5. Pingback: Stainless Steel for 2011? « Minnesota Mom

Leave a Reply

