Vintage Books

Again, I’m not that old, so to me, some of these books aren’t really “vintage.” However, some of them are from my mother’s childhood, which clearly makes them antique. 😉

My mom has always been way into series, so naturally, I read a lot of them as a kid. Boxcar Children, Babysitters’ Club, Sweet Valley Twins. However, these are some of the more “classic” ones that she still keeps on the shelf.

The first books I remember reading by myself, The Bobbsey Twins:
112710 013

Mom’s Trixie Belden books. Did you ever pick a character that you idolized in the books you read? In The Babysitters Club, I wanted to be Claudia. In the Trixie Belden books, I wanted to be Honey.

112710 014

And two series that I can’t wait to read to Anja someday, Little House on the Prairie and Anne of Green Gables.

112710 015

Did you ever read any series growing up? If so, which ones?

6 thoughts on “Vintage Books

  1. I was digging around in my mom’s attic a few weeks ago looking for some very specific things from my childhood to bring home to my girls. One of the things I found that I wasn’t actually looking for were my Little House books. I had them all too and loved every second of them (although w/o Laura and her sisters, “Farmer Boy” got a wee bit tedious). At any rate, they’re now on the bookshelf for my AmyBear to start reading. We may start them as read aloud chapter books, but I’m sure she’ll end up finishing them on her own!

    I was a bit too old for Babysitter’s Club by the time it came out. I loved Nancy Drew. I’m sure there were others…just can’t remember them all now. It’s been a while!!

  2. BSC…I wanted to be Stacey. I also loved the Box Car Children, Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley Twins, Ramona, Little House on the Prairie, (I have re-read the entire Little House series a couple of times in recent years. First, I re-read them after having my first daughter 9 years ago. When I would nurse her, I would read aloud. Then again, starting when she was probably 6, we re-read the series.) the Ginnie and Geneva books by Catherine Woolley, the All-of-a-Kind Family books by Sydney Taylor, and Anne of Green Gables. I never read Trixie Belden or the Bobbsey Twins, but I’ll have to look into them for read-alouds. We homeschool, and I love getting books I enjoyed when I was a kid to read to the girls. We are currently reading “The Family Under the Bridge” by Natalie Savage. It’s our Christmasy read-aloud. Another series I would recommend is The Cobble Street Cousins by Cynthia Rylant. It’s pretty easy reading and short chapters….for when Anja is a bit older and ready to start reading chapter books on her own. Gooseberry Park is also by Cynthia Rylant, and it is an excellent chapter book (read-aloud) for younger kids–lots of pictures. Eleanor Estes has several good chapter books for kids also. We read The Hundred Dresses last year (girls were 5 & 7). I believe she also has a series about the Pye family, which is on my book list. :~)

  3. I loved the Boxcar Children–our 3rd grade teacher read them to us–but Trixie Belden was the best! A few years ago, D got me a set of four for Christmas. I enjoyed reading them again, and was really struck by the social differences between now and the era when they were written. I imagine it’s that way with a lot of those old series.

  4. oooh, I read and loved all of these (and Nancy Drew, too). The Trixie Beldens were the only ones I bought … and I bought the entire series, one at a time. Kept them for decades. And then in a fit of generosity gave them to a daughter of a friend, since I couldn’t picture my boys reading or wanting them. I’ve since started buying copies for my niece, and they’re hard to find (not all are still in print, sniff sniff, dab a tear or two…)

    Merry Christmas, Heidi!!

Leave a Reply

