A Flower Girl

Anja has been asking a lot lately if she can be a flower girl. I think part of it is related to my being a wedding photographer.

We were riding in the car home from preschool last week, and she asked again…

Anja: Mama, can I be a flower girl for Daddy?
Me: No, Daddy already married Mama before you were born. See, he already had a wedding, so Daddy doesn’t need a flower girl.
A: Can I be Auntie Tiffany’s flower girl?
M: No, she’s already married to Uncle Jeremy.
A: But I want to be a flower girl. Flower girls have beautiful white dresses.
M: Your best bet is probably Auntie Manda, but she’s not in love with anyone right now, and that usually happens before there is a wedding. So it might be awhile.
*pause*
A: Well, what about Sherman? He’s kind of cute!
M, laughing: Auntie Manda cannot marry Sherman!
A: I could get him a little suit.

At this point I was laughing hysterically and had to call Husband to share that his sister might be marrying a stuffed dog just so Anja could be a flower girl.

4 thoughts on “A Flower Girl

  1. HA HA HA HA HA!!!! I love Sherman! …but I made a vow a few years ago that I wouldn’t marry a stuffed animal. I don’t want to just “settle”.
    I’d like to see him in a suit, though. And Anja’s right…he is pretty cute…

Leave a Reply

