Torn

I’m torn.  While I love the interaction and teaching my daughter gets at preschool, I don’t love paying for it.  We send her to a very reasonably-priced preschool (ends up being right around $1000 for the entire year), and we’ve been very happy with the experience.  Enrollment forms for next year are due soon, and my husband and I have been trying to decide what is best.

On one hand, I want her home.  I want to have this time with her, to be the one to teach her how to string letters into words (I don’t think they’re doing that yet at preschool, but since she has such an interest in reading we’ve started practicing at home).  My husband insists that we will not be homeschooling, so I know my time with her is short.

On the other hand, I know that I can’t be everything for my daughter–playmate, mother, teacher, friend.  She needs other people in her life.  She needs to learn how to interact with the world.  I want her to be socially ready for Kindergarten, ready to follow rules and obey instructions in a group setting.  And preschool only takes her away for 5 hours a week.  That’s not too much.  And financially-speaking, I don’t want to have to shoot an additional wedding this year (and have that much added stress) to be able to afford to send her again next year.

Why does parenting have to include all these tough decision?

122810 01

Not exactly what I had planned for a New Year’s post, but it’s at the forefront of my mind. Happy 2011, everyone!

One thought on “Torn

Leave a Reply

