Simple Woman’s Daybook 02.23.11

Outside my window…the snow piles again, softly covering the old, dirty snow. I am thankful for it – the white instead of the muddy blackish-brown.

I am thinking…about children’s prayers. Did you have a simple prayer you were taught as a child, or did you pray for specific things?

I am thankful for…a kitchen where I can create, even if it is currently quite messy.

From the kitchen…Pesto Pasta.

I am wearing…jeans, a white long-sleeve t-shirt and a brown poncho.

I am creating…a batch of steamed carrots for my son.

I am going…to a MOPS Swap today!

I am reading…One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp.

I am hoping…that my move-in can wait until April. Funny how things change.

I am hearing…the computer’s hum and the squeak of my daughter’s (my old) bed.

Around the house…is a tent, a bunch of scrapbooking supplies, and a pile of mail that needs going through.

One of my favorite things…is peanut butter.

A few plans for the rest of the week: chiropractor, small group, touring a swimming facility where Anja will take lessons, and hopefully more home renovations.

Here is picture for thought I am sharing…my sweet boy, wondering why I’m making him lie on the floor for pictures.

022111 027

Read more Daybook entries here.

3 thoughts on “Simple Woman’s Daybook 02.23.11

  1. We didn’t have a special children’s prayer, but the family that I nannied for did. The parents were singers in a choir, and every night before the three girls (11, 5, and 3) went to bed, we’d gather in the living room and sing the prayer below. I thought it was a really great tradition.

    Jesus, tender shepherd hear me.
    Bless Thy little lamb tonight.
    Through the darkness be Thou near me.
    Keep me safe ’til morning light. Amen.

    Here’s a link that shows the music: http://www.guitarnut.com/folktablature/the101bestsongs/tendershepherd_dt.html.

  2. I cannot believe how much he’s grown! He’s still so adorable. Drop by the blog Heidi, and tell me your thoughts on The New York Times article I linked to regarding mommy bloggers!

Leave a Reply

