The Whole Life Nutrition Elimination Diet: Phases 2 and 3

Here’s a quick update on our progress with the elimination diet. Read more here if you are playing catch up.

Days 10 to 15: Phase 2

On Day 10 we introduced lemons and limes to our diet. We included it in smoothies, in our water, in our salad dressings, and to Husband’s delight, had some lemonade (he likes variety in his beverages). My favorite recipe was a lemon lentil soup.
On Day 13 we added in wheat-free tamari (kind of like soy sauce). We had it on asparagus and greens, in our collard wraps, and on our sunflower burgers.
Neither of us noticed any strong reactions to these foods.

Days 16 to 28: Phase 3

Phase 3 involves reintroduction of foods that sometimes cause irritations in people. We began with root vegetable pancakes (which tasted so delicious! yay, potatoes!) and breakfast greens. I noticed quite a few symptoms related to potatoes, so I am going to re-test those. I ate almost an entire pineapple by myself, though, and had no problems with that! πŸ™‚ We’ve had several meals that we both enjoyed a LOT, including Curried Vegetables with Indian Fried Rice as well as Coconut-Lime Chicken (which we introduced two days before Easter to prepare us for some meat….Husband wanted his ham!). Husband continues to not notice any particular sensitivities and accuses me of hypochondria when I mention any of mine. I think I’m sensitive to bananas as well (boo, because I used to eat them almost every day!).

Overall impressions:
1. Husband’s family has many digestive issues, and he thinks he may have a mild case of IBS. He has trouble digesting most vegetables.
2. We’ve both lost weight on the diet. Not incredible amounts, but enough that we both feel better about our bodies. I’m guessing quite a bit of it was inflammation/water retention. I’ve noticed that my abdomen and face areas have slimmed the most, same with Husband.
3. We’ve decided that we are going to try to eat “Phase 3 style” most of the time with occasional treats, depending on what we find out during the Challenge Phase.
4. The diet continues to be a problem socially. Virtually everything served everywhere contains at least one of the Challenge foods: gluten, oats, corn, soy, dairy, eggs, or yeast. We both hope that none of these produce monumental reactions in us just so we can participate in social functions without feeling like a burden.
5. Things I miss the most: cheese and peanut butter. Sunflower butter and almond butter on rice cakes with dried figs or raisins have been a staple snack for me. Surprisingly, I don’t miss baked goods as much as I anticipated, though we also haven’t had them in the house… πŸ˜‰

041611 001
Collard Wraps with Sunflower Pate

041611 007
Sunflower Seed Burger with side of avocado and pear

2 thoughts on “The Whole Life Nutrition Elimination Diet: Phases 2 and 3

  1. As I glance at the nearly empty can of Pepsi to my left I feel guilty reading this post. :S I’ll be the first to admit that I love how I feel when I eat better and that I would also love to try more new foods. I’ve often admired how well you and your family eat and especially the variety of meals you make. My mind quickly offers up a plethora of (poor) excuses though, so I have a few questions for you.

    How often when trying a new recipe is it a flop with at least one family member? (To the point in which you would not repeat it.)

    How much (approximately) do you spend on food a month?

    Where do you purchase most of your food?

    How do you keep all of the produce you eat fresh? (We seem to always end up throwing some away because we don’t utilize it, even when we have planned meals out for a period of time.)

    How much time do you spend preparing food during the day? (Especially with two little ones, your meals seem to be SO much more elaborate than my pasta/meat/sauce type ones that I so often use and I feel like Kylie and Maraike always get into some sort of mischief if I don’t keep a close eye on them. And that’s just for dinner! Lunch is usually a totally non-cooking meal.)

    P.S. I have loved Sunbutter for years. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Elimination Diet, Day 57 « Elimination Determination

Leave a Reply

