Kitsch in the Kitchen

Yesterday my husband had the day off work, so we took the opportunity for a rare mid-morning “date” at Barnes & Noble (one of our favorite date spots).  I had recently heard of Amy Sedaris’ book “I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence,” so I followed the nice customer service lady right to it, picked up a few obligatory magazines (usually they get placed, unread, back where they were on my way out), and found a spot at a table near the café.

Oh.  My.  Goodness.  This is a HILARIOUS read.  I cannot remember the last time I laughed so hard so many times in a row.  I can’t say I would necessarily buy a copy, as I wouldn’t want my children finding something with inappropriate humor on my bookshelf (or in this case, in my recipe cupboard), but…I also can’t say I might not pick it up again the next 3 or 4 times I go to B & N.  This book is even funnier if you are a fan of Martha Stewart, which I am.  Sedaris satirically takes aim at Martha-type entertaining books, filling hers with some useful tips but mostly humorous anecdotes and “to do” lists regarding entertaining.

Sedaris has a few obsessions that are quite obvious even after just a quick scan: squirrels, rick-rack and googley eyes, to name a few.  Her recipe photos seem to be stolen from a 1970s cookbook.  Ugly props (my favorite being a little terra cotta worm who shows up randomly in plates of food), not-so-good looking dishes (including…a cake made out of meat.  After reading some online reviews, however, I saw that many people gave her recipes kudos despite their unpalatable appearance) and random captions fill the pages.

My sides really split when I saw the crafting section in the back.  Gum wrapper necklaces, earrings made of painted penne pasta, peanuts (or clams) with googley eyes, plant hangers made of nylons…it defines kitsch.

Again, not something I’d recommend for the kiddies (I don’t find some of the “adult” humor she includes very funny), but good for a laugh or 247.

5 thoughts on “Kitsch in the Kitchen

  1. Do they recognize you when you come in to read books without buying them? You need to be careful. Start wearing some of those fake moustaches when you go in.

    P.S. Thanks for the link to the candyboots.com website. I forgot how hilarious that is!

Leave a comment