Did you miss out on the classics?

Cuz I did.  When I was young, I was smart.  I taught myself to read by age 3.  By Kindergarten, when everyone else was learning the alphabet, I was reading The Bobbsey Twins (shout out to my friend Nan!).  But then, reading only series caught up with me.  I graduated to Trixie Belden (old school) and Little House and Babysitters’ Club and Sweet Valley Twins.  I never read anything good.  Nothing enriching.

Then in high school I read Emma by Jane Austen.   And I realized I hadn’t missed out on much.  Now, I’m not trying to offend all you JA lovers out there, but really, her books could be summarized as done here.  I encourage you to go and read all these classics.  It will take you about half an hour, and you should be able to carry on in-depth conversations about them (no) or at least answer elementary-level questions (maybe).  It’s funny, at any rate.  And fairly accurate!

One thought on “Did you miss out on the classics?

Leave a comment