Crocus

Okay, folks. I’m putting myself out there again. I am considering selling stuff on Etsy. I make cards, but don’t know if that’s really profitable. I also like to draw, and I love little sketchy-type things that some people sell there. I primarily find myself drawn to things that would look great in my daughter’s room. I doodle constantly (mostly geometric shapes, flowers, and little cartoon people), so I thought to myself, Self, you might be able to sell things, too.

What I need from you, my friends, is to know if what I am considering selling is sell-able. Here is my first sketch. I have zero watercolor skills at this point and am going to work on techniques before making an actual piece to sell. Also, I will use better paper (read: thicker that won’t wrinkle from the water) and get someone to scan it on something better than a home PCS (it’s a little yellowed from that process).

Okay, enough excuses. Opinions, please.

crocus

12 thoughts on “Crocus

  1. I love Etsy!!! I buy all the time! And I too am going to be selling – that jewelry that no one wanted on Ebay.. 😦

    Anyway, I think your art is adorable, and I think it would sell!!!

    Go for it sista!!!

  2. Very sweet and beautiful.

    I think personalization is the key. As long as the potential buyer can add a name, birth date, special note, etc., I think it would be a hit!

    Try canvas, then your buyer could decide to hang it as is.

  3. That is so cute!! Definitely go for it…that whole “nothing ventured, nothing gained” thing applies perfectly here.

  4. You’re artwork is darling – and personally, I’d buy it if it had glitter on it. I love really cute cards, but they almost always have glitter on them. Go figure…

  5. Hello — I too love Etsy, and it seems that LOTS of peple shop there for affordable art. I definitely think you could build a following; you have a nice style.

Leave a comment