Paper Heart Garland: A (Pictorial) Tutorial

I was browsing around Etsy the other day month, as I am known to do, and I happened across the most darling little garlands.  I added them to my tumblr account so I wouldn’t forget them, and this weekend I sat down and attempted to make one.  The best part?  They were FREE!  And I finished in about 40 minutes and hung them just in time for Valentine’s Day.

So here’s a quick tutorial for those of you who might like to try it at home.  The rest of you can ignore the text and just look at the pictures (especially the last one–end product!).

1.  Cut a bunch of strips of paper of equal width.  I cut 3 different sheets of 12×12 scrapbook paper I had lying around into 1″ wide strips.

020411 paper heart garland 001

2. Cut equal increments off four of those pieces.  For instance, I took 8 12″ strips and left the first two, cut the next into 10 1/2″ strips, the next into 9″ strips and the next into 7 1/2″ strips.

020411 paper heart garland 002

3. Fold another 12″ strip in half.

020411 paper heart garland 003

4. Place the cut strips, facing in, longest inside to shortest outside, so that the two shortest pieces should be on the outside with their backs facing out (just me, or is this much harder to write than to photograph?).

5. Stick the folded-in-half piece in the middle, between the two longest strips, leaving about an inch or two of the fold sticking out the top. Also, excuse my bandaged finger in these pics…had a little incident with a razor.

020411 paper heart garland 004

6. Staple where the base of the strips meet the center piece.

020411 paper heart garland 005

7. Gather the varied-size strips, one at a time, and bring them down until they are flush with the bottom of the center piece.  It should end up looking like concentric hearts.

020411 paper heart garland 006

8. Staple that bottom part together.  Repeat steps 1-8 to make as many hearts as you’d like.

9. Cut some lengths of twine, as many as you have hearts (my twine pieces were 10″ long).

020411 paper heart garland 007

10.  Tie the twine through the top of the paper loops.

020411 paper heart garland 008

020411 paper heart garland 009

11.  Use these as ornaments or (as I did), tie these loops onto a longer length of twine and hang it.

020411 paper heart garland 010

Ta da!  Call yourself crafty.  🙂

If you make this, let me know! I’d love to see your garland!

12 thoughts on “Paper Heart Garland: A (Pictorial) Tutorial

  1. thanks so much for posting this! i did the same thing! saw these on etsy (thought they were too cute) and thought i could make them on my own if someone would show me how. thanks so much!

  2. Found these hearts on Pinterest which brought me to esty… and wanted to make some myself. Did a google search and found Minnesota Mom. 🙂 Great instructions. Thanks so much for posting!

  3. Pingback: Wee Rice Hand Warmers « Minnesota Mom

  4. I’m all the way over in SA and I loved this! Was looking for a project/craft to keep me busy for a while before going to varsity; thought I’d kill a few days with these lovelies however you made it so easy it only took me a little over an hour! Thank you (:

  5. Pingback: DIY Valentine’s Day Tutorial | Lucky You, Lucky Me

  6. Pingback: Wedding DIY: Place Settings | thebitchybride

  7. Pingback: DIY Wedding Related Projects | Events as Planned, the Ottawa Wedding Planner

  8. Pingback: Space | thesamesky

  9. Pingback: Five Handmade Valentines Gifts Will Make Your Guy Feel like A Stud — Kathln

Leave a comment