In2U

My lovely sometime blogger friend (the friend formerly known as Daa**) hung out at the mall last night.  We ate some yummy Qdoba (thanks, Jen!) and then made some rounds to stores.  She found some fabulous shoes at Nordstrom Rack and, courtesy of her personal shopper Heidi, a stunning (and cheap!) dress at Jessica McClintock.

Interrupting self to say: I think that if I didn’t have anything else to do, I would want to be a personal shopper.  I love picking out clothes for people and making them try them on (often reluctantly), because they often end up loving it, even if they didn’t on the hanger.  I make my mom do this all the time.  She told me two years ago, “I can’t wear skirts.”  I said, “Oh really?” and handed her several to try on.  Now she owns over a dozen.  HA!  I said HAAAA!

Anyway, I also had fun picking out some limey green accessories to go with the black dress.

However, the highlight of the evening was when we strolled through the Macy’s perfume department to find a certain fragrance she was looking for, only to hear that it has been discontinued.  We stood around smelling other perfumes and chatting with the salesman.  Anja was with us, and he was asking me about where we got her stroller.  He has a son on the way (and is very excited about it) and is looking into getting some gear for him.  Jen continued smelling things.  Next thing we knew, this kind salesman pulled out two bottles of In2U, the exact perfume she was looking for, from behind the counter and said we could have them.  They were yet unopened, full-size “Tester” bottles the store had received when they ordered their shipment.  He also gave us each a bottle of aftershave for our husbands.  CRAZINESS!  We were just looking at him and each other like, Is this for real? And it was.  Because me, who never wears perfume, is sporting some today.  Some really expensive, yet free, perfume.  And it matches my chemistry well.

Isn’t that just the kindness of the Lord?  She and I both see things like that as sweet gifts, and we spent the rest of the night marveling that God would see fit to bless us like that.  It was a fun experience to share.

9 thoughts on “In2U

  1. Wow, free perfume — that’s a pretty good deal. I agree; He enjoys giving small gifts as well as the big ones. 🙂

    If you were closer, I’d beg your services as personal shopper. I hate shopping, and would love to have someone with the talent of finding just the right thing.

    And I feel ridiculous in a skirt.

  2. That’s awesome! I love it when God blesses up through other people.

    Please shop for me too. I tend to find that perfect tee – and then buy it in every conceivable color and THAT is my wardrobe.

  3. Our county has a community website that lists a weekly trivia question, to which the first five correct answers win a free pizza from Papa Johns. My husband is crazy for Papa Johns (well ok, so we both are). He won on last week’s question, and they sent us a certificate in the mail for the free pizza. Actually, it was just a letter of congratulations. After handing the letter to the pizza delivery boy and enjoying our cheesy slices, I picked up the envelope the letter came in and out fell a business card which, turns out, was the actual certificate, not the letter itself. Trying to be the upstanding Christian people we say we are, we called Papa Johns and apologized for the mix up. We just didn’t want to get the pizza boy in trouble for the mistake. My husband asked if we should shred the certificate or bring it by the store And I’m sure you can guess what the manager’s reply was. Nah, go ahead and keep it and use it again. So we ended up with two free pizzas for the price of…none! It’s so fun when surprising things like that happen!

  4. Wow! How much fun is that? I’d take your personal shopping skills any day. I used to enjoy shopping, and then I worked retail for a while. That killed any love of shopping I once had. I always tell people that if they are struggling with spending too much at the mall, they only need to spend a few months working retail – especially during the holidays. They won’t set foot in a mall for years afterwards!

  5. That guy deserves a real blessing back for his kindness! You dont find that kind of customer service anymore! Better yet, you love it!

    Could I recommend a return random act of kindness to him?

Leave a comment